REALLY AWFUL IMPROVED SOFTWARE AND HARDWARE


A parable of upgrading … 

A bicycle I bought
To get from A to B;
Much quicker, as I thought,
Than walking is, you see. 

Then saw I, on the Net,
A better seat by far,
‘That saddle I must get
On my old saddle-bar!’ 

But soon I came across
A full-scale seat to fit …
Gave movement, though, some loss,
With pedals blocked a bit. 

Some reason made my trips
Take longer at this time;
I also suffered quips
When hills I tried to climb. 

So took a new upgrade –
Full arm-chair job, was this;
Which quite a difference made,
For down-hills were sheer bliss. 

The hills, though, I could not
Get up, so changed again:
Recliner, now, I got,
With shelter from the rain.

It had built-in TV,
And coffee-maker, too;
But most regrettably
Now, move it, I can’t do.
 
The latest version is
Spectacular, indeed,
But has me in a tiz –
It won’t do what I need! 

© Colonialist November 2011 (Letterdash/WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels, with notes writing classical music, and with riding cycles, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Really Awful Rhyme, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to REALLY AWFUL IMPROVED SOFTWARE AND HARDWARE

  1. :-D I have a picture of you reclining in a Hell’s Angel-style bicycle….now I want one….

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    I always steer clear of ‘New Improved’ anything!

  3. Nicola says:

    oops sorry the links went a bit strange

  4. Nicola says:

    Brilliant – it reminded me of Pam Goodall’s description of her bike she bought for cycling round the world and some of the things did not help with saddle soreness

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

