REALLY AWFULLY BANG-ON EFFICIENCY


 

In March in year Two Thou and Nine,
You may recall, a gun
Was something thought not very fine -
Not even owned for fun. 

One had to turn each weapon in
To your cop-shop nearby,
Or be arrested for the sin
Your gun, to keep, to try.

‘All jolly well and good,’ I said,
‘But what if robbers take
Ideas into each crooked head
A raid on them to make?

‘Then crooks will have my firearms –
All I can throw right back
Are insults, which for bod’ly harms
Creation, show a lack!’

I like my sticks that bang and pop,
Projecting chunks of lead …
‘Apply for licence you can’t stop
Me doing!’ ‘s what I said.

And so it was, right then and there,
Filled papers by the score;
Gave fingerprints, and tore my hair,
When, info., they asked more!

And then I had to write a quiz
With answers weird and wild,
It was a tricky little biz
Remaining meek and mild.

From there I had to take a course
On how to shoot, one morn –
‘Oh come; I’d shooting skills in force
Before you, son, were born!’

Certificate they handed me
To show com-pet-en-cy –
Which, had they not, then off their tree
They’d have branched out to be.

And then they said that I should wait …

I waited for a year …

And yet another, was my fate …

And then for nine months clear …

(Oh, in this time, they did request
A picture of my safe
Where guns were stored; I thought it best
If them such thing I gafe.)

And this month came an SMS -
They had something for me -
Two cards; and yet another … guess? …
Cert. of Com-pet-en-cy!

‘Now, lamb-inate this!’ they did cry,
Though, with its size, it’s fate
Is that I think I’d rather try
To make that ‘sheep-inate’!

And now when guns in safe I store,
Or carry, out of sight,
I’m totally within the law –
My cards give me the right!

© Colonialist December 2011 (Letterdash/WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels, with notes writing classical music, and with riding cycles, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to REALLY AWFULLY BANG-ON EFFICIENCY

  1. bluebee says:

    When I got hijacked mine got taken and has probably been used in countless other hijackings – not really sure how useful they are…

    Like

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    Oh, bloody hell! Need to sort my dingus out in the new year, Col. Ag, well, nevermind I can also d r a g it out…

    Like

  3. colonialist says:

    It was a l…o…o…n…n…g process!

    They go with a bounce, or are just tyresome?

    Like

  4. Gracious: glad it all got sorted eventually, Col!
    You can make verse do india-rubber-tricks, I swear you can.

    Like

  5. granny1947 says:

    Remind me not to mess with you!

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

