REALLY AWFUL SINGING AND SWINGING.


-
She’s one year old today;
One year old today!
She’s got the crawl of the floor;
Never been one year old before;
Her father says she can’t do as she likes,
But shout hip-hip hooray;
For she’s a jolly good yeller:
She’s just turned one today!

 

It has been one of those days where the pressure builds until one can almost feel one’s brains trickling out through the ears. I had a stack of certificates to edit and print for Saturday, and then somebody actually had the lack of consideration to want supplies from my selling-stuff business, just to be difficult! On top of that I was acting as receptionist/telephonist for half the household, it seems. The ladies take the portable with them, but then always leave it in places where they aren’t.

Then I also had distractions I wanted to be involved in, like chats with Publisher and more brilliant pics for Immy – I think these will complete the ones needed for Immy Goes Riding.

Additionally, one of J’s pressies was a swing, and I somehow had to squeeze in the process of untangling it from the box and hanging it up so it could be swung on. Sounds simple enough, only I found that there was nowhere suitable to hang it. Even sacrificing some of the existing Jungle Gym equipment simply didn’t do the trick.

 

I nearly gave up. The sea looked really tempting, but …

Resolutely, I ended up prospecting in far reaches of our estate for suitable timber, and then dashing to hardware stores for suitable nails and stuff so that I could build an extension onto said Gym. The pole I had found was a really long one, so I stopped digging the hole for it only when I heard indignant Chinese yells coming out.  Even without cement at the base, it is solid!

 

I think I can boast that my building was to good effect, hmmm?

© Colonialist April 2012 (WordPress/Letterdash)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels, with notes writing classical music, and with riding cycles, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Beach, Really Awful Rhyme, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to REALLY AWFUL SINGING AND SWINGING.

  1. Yes, wonderful effect of that building! How sweet!
    anne

    Like

  2. Belated congratulations to her! They are both adorable!

    Like

  3. Sonel says:

    Awwww..she is so adorable Col! Congrats grandad and please give her hugs and kisses from me, Simba and the monkeys..heheheh. Great job on that jungle gym. It’s gorgeous! :)
    *hugs*

    Like

  4. Gobetween says:

    Well done, great job, can’t believe she is one already.

    Like

  5. adinparadise says:

    What a delightful smile she has. Happy Birthday to your one-year-old princess, Col. Sounds like you’ve really been kept on your toes. ;)

    Like

  6. optie says:

    What a little sweetie, well done Grandad!

    Like

  7. Pussycat44 says:

    ‘n Boer maak ‘n plan! Well done, it looks good and solid. Many happy swings, J.

    Like

  8. newsferret says:

    Grandad boating with reason! Congratulations.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

