BEACHCOMBER’S DIARY AND REALLY AWFUL RHYME COMBINED…


Sand, sea and pooches
 


Took pooches to beach today;
We all had a lot of fun;
They froliced and splahed away,
And then we went for a run.
  
But shells were quite hard to find
Until a rock-shell I spied,
The fates then were most unkind –
A crab peeked out from inside!
 
Temptation which came to me
Was keep the shell nonetheless –
But flung it back in the sea
To save the crab from distress.
 
A cowrie I then espied –
The first one today I’d seen –
Now, did Nature then decide
That I a good boy had been?
 
So I got a just reward?
I like to think it was so –
My action to thus applaud,
Because I had done that throw.
And later one more I found –
 A rock-shell came on the tide
(For what goes round does come round);
This one was unoccupied!

 

© June 2010 Colonialist (WordPress)

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to BEACHCOMBER’S DIARY AND REALLY AWFUL RHYME COMBINED…

  1. Tokeloshe says:

    Delightful!

    I love your photo ;-)
    Oh, I do so miss the sea and beach-combing.
    Our dogs will love it too.
    Thank you for taking us along.

    Take care.

    Like

  2. rea'scrazymind says:

    Lovely poem Col, and I agree what goes around comes around. Have a great day

    Like

  3. adeeyoyo says:

    Eeew, hope you prodded the shell with a stick before you picked it up, lol!

    Like

  4. granny1947 says:

    lol@lyndatjie….
    Good one Col.

    Like

  5. Rose says:

    It’s that karma thingy!

    Like

  6. supagran says:

    It must be lovely to be able to pop to the beach so often. Oh and I didn’t remove your comment….I wouldn’t have a clue how to do it!

    Like

  7. anotherdayinparadise says:

    Good morning Col. Glad to see you’re waxing lyrical on the beach again. Sounds like a lot of fun for the pooches.

    Like

  8. theonlycin says:

    Lovely, and I must thank you; I saw the title of your post and anticipated more boastful cowrie pictures, I’m grateful I was wrong.

    Like

  9. halfp1nt says:

    Poor little crabs having vacant houses nicked from right under their claws :-)

    Like

  10. Lyndatjie says:

    Methinks its the first crab that moved house because he didn’t like the flying lesson… :)

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

