STRANGE FRIEND-IN-AIRPORT DAY.


           In my youth an airport was more usually known as an aerodrome or just ‘drome’. Today is a palindrome in numbers – done the old way, at any rate. We have 21022012. If you take that backwards, it is 21022012. Maybe that is why I have been chasing around in such dizzy circles I have been in serious danger of undertaking (note emphasis on ‘under’) speleological exploration up my own … well, you get the hole idea.

          I had to collect my copies of my new novel.

Yes, after this long and difficult labour, and all the pain and screaming, the delivery has finally taken place. Forest Circle Quest is real, it’s actual; (very nearly) all of it is satisfactual. 

         Shops will be  infected    infested   in stock in due course. Of course, those peepholes not due to wait the course can squeak to me and ve vill course der plan to beink made.

          Then I had to do some print investigations regarding the now-completed first draft of Immy and the Dragon.  Those seem promising.  Anyway, let me see if I can give you hereunder a preview of this brilliant follow-up to War and Peace, and ask if you can guess which of our esteemed bloggers is the talented artist!

          I then had to dash to collect some stock up another end of town, and arrange for delivery to yet another. In fact, the only direction I hadn’t got involved in so far was out to sea. (That was still to come.) When I tried to print the invoice, the printer said one of its cartridges was emp-per-tee, so I also had to dash to get a new one. I was also chasing up a batch of my CDs which had needed re-doing.

          With all of this, I still managed to dash into the library to return an overdue book, and thought I’d grab another while I was there. I went to the Fantasy shelf as usual, but for some reason my eye was instead caught by a SF novel of Arthur C Clarke – with a title I didn’t recognise. I haven’t read SF in ages, but something made me grab it. I looked inside, and burst out laughing. This is what I read on the flyleaf:

‘… an event that has haunted the world: the sinking of the Titanic’

          I mean, if you consider all the synchronicity I’ve already had from that wretched boat (see here), this becomes absurd. Never mind the world, that ship is haunting me, personally! It won’t leave me alone. If I saw a horse named Titanic running in a major race, I think I’d have to bet my boots on it.

          Oh yes, and we had a visitor when I got home.

 

 

 Colonialist February 2012 (Letterdash/WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Personal Journal, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to STRANGE FRIEND-IN-AIRPORT DAY.

  1. Tilly Bud says:

    Congratulations! I wish you great success 🙂

    Like

  2. Congratulations Col.
    *hugs*

    Like

  3. Sonel says:

    Congrats Col! I do hope she and the dragon became friends. I love dragons and don’t like to read that they’ve been killed. Love the illustrations! Now don’t become too busy for us you hear….:)

    Like

  4. adinparadise says:

    I’m surprised you still find time to read with all this writing going on. 😉 Fantastic illustrations from fl!

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      I only find a few minutes now and again, to tell the truth! For most of my life it was a ritual before going to sleep at night. No longer!
      Aren’t they just! You should see the whole collection!

      Like

  5. colonialist says:

    Heavily booked! 🙂

    Thanks!

    Like

  6. newsferret says:

    I see time has booked you up. Congratulations anyway.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

