Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime – and other thousand-word essays.


 

R feeds fish and ducks IllovoWe went down the KwaZulu Natal South Coast to Illovo today to meet a friend on a flying visit from overseas for brunch (for purposes of the challenge, call it lunch!) and here is my picture of the lunch being served.  OK, so it wasn’t our lunch – by the time I think of taking pictures of mine, I will have eaten it.  It was that of the ducks and fish, after we’d had ours.  The best duck did a duck as I clicked the shutter.  See the splash? 

Tillandsia at Illovo Yet again, we met up with some of our friends and some of R’s friends – two different groups! – who just happened to have gone there today as well.  The way this keeps happening, one would imagine our circle of acquaintances must be enormous, which it isn’t.  These coincidences are weird.
Anyway, while there, I took the opportunity to buy one of these spectacular Tillandsias. 

 Bearded Dragon 008Then I came across a real dragon!  I didn’t slay it – but I was very tempted to add one to the purchases.  I’ve never had a Bearded Dragon as a pet, and rather fancy the idea.   

Beach view south Beach after pruningBack at the ranch, I have continued with my mission to make the sea view into a beach view again, and here are the latest results.  I will spare you a picture of the various new lacerations added to my body in the process – unless you really want them?

Rock shell Thais bufoShell pickings were a bit poor, but I did find this rock shell – Thais bufo.

J and MacFinally, here is another of Mac tolerating, as his due, the adoration of young J.  That reminds me – I still have to post the results of the Caption Competition! *Slaps own wrist, and gives a mighty yelp because that is one of the injured areas.* 

© Colonialist March 2013 (WordPress)

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Beach, Challenge, Food, Grandchildren, Nature, Ocean, Personal Journal, Photography, Seashells and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime – and other thousand-word essays.

  1. pinkpolkad0tfood says:

    Love the shells and of course the little one!!

    Like

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    I certainly wouldn’t get any work done with a view like that, Col. I think… I may… get to quite like a dragon for a pet. They’re not quite as creepy-crawly as other *nunus.

    *
    Definition of nunu (British & World English)
    oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/nunu?rskey=RUSd49
    noun ( plural nunus ). South African informal. an insect, spider, worm, or similar small creature: the box gives protection against worms and other nunus …

    Like

  3. The Asian says:

    Little R seems to be very popular!
    I love the view you have, all I see is walls when I look out our windows

    Like

  4. SidevieW says:

    Your view is wonderful

    Like

  5. optie says:

    Love those Tillandsias, not that keen on the bearded dragon though. What a great view you have, I would also want to keep it unobstructed.

    Like

  6. bulldog says:

    Love that spot…

    Like

  7. poetinside says:

    Lovely photos and its been a while I’ve seen a real dragon. Nice to see them.

    Like

  8. 68ghia says:

    It’s OK Col – we don’t need to see the various lacerations 😉
    Poor Mac – very patient he is!

    Like

  9. adinparadise says:

    Great pics, Col. Love your sea view. I can see that you’ve really made a dent in that foliage, but I can live without seeing your lacerations. Love little R’s outfit…….she’s ‘The Lady in Pink’. Poor Mac looks very long suffering in that last photo. It’s so long ago, that I’d almost forgotten about the caption competition. 😉

    Like

  10. Love the photos. Make me want a holiday…

    Like

  11. huntmode says:

    What lovely scenery and the kids steal it every time. Took me a second to realize that Tillandsias was the name of plant and not the dragon. Got to get to where you are, Col. Grin.

    Like

  12. nrhatch says:

    Your view is gorgeous. I’d love to sit there with a cocktail and let you regale me with tales of your extreme fortitude in attacking the encroaching vegetation. 😀

    Like

  13. melouisef says:

    Love the little dragon!

    Like

  14. Colline says:

    You are creating a beautiful view – I love it.

    Like

  15. Pussycat44 says:

    Aaaahhh, Illovo Nursery 😉 They used to make the best pie and gravy. Haven’t been there in a while.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

