REALLY AWFUL NaPaWriMo ENTRIES


Nancy, from Spirit Lights the Way, is always trying to get me into trouble with rhyming.  This time she suggested that I go for the National Poetry Writing Month, (or NaPoWriMo, as you see on the badge – I decided not to adopt the IntPoWriMo style.)

Anyway, my first impression was that if I entered it would be like a little lad toddling onto a field of serious football players, kicking a tennis ball.  I would probably, I reasoned, become the victim of a hit-squad commissioned by serious poetic types for daring to mix my doggerel rhyme with their exaltedly soaring literature.

Then I saw the prompt, which included the very first line I had used for my Easter Bonnet post.  Such synchronicity was not to be ignored, and I thought what the heck.  All I have to do is repost it, but with the 2011 hat and a third modification:

 IMG_0817(Small)(C)

Shall I compare thee to a Summer’s day?
Thou art more sunny and fantastical.
Rough hands can grab these darling buds as may,
They stay a-head with bands elastical;
Sometimes too bright the colours here may shine,
And often other hats may thus be dimmed,
And ears may downward droopingly decline
Unless with cunning ribbons they are trimmed:
But thy eternal Easter shall not fade
Nor be forgotten in some future days,
For pictures show what with such care was made,
Superior in oh, so many ways.
So long as a computer one may see,
So long lives this, for this gives life to thee..

After that I had yet another thunk, to the effect that as that rhyme had already been posted before 1st it might not count.  Also, it is a clear parody.  Just to be on the safe side, therefore, I’m throwing in a spot of verse I did today for my eldest granddaughter, who has just turned eighteen.  I couldn’t even speak to her, because she is wandering around Greece somewhere.

Long time we have been waiteen
For you to turn to eighteen;
Exactly eighteen years, to be precise!
And though you are now dating –
And soon may well be mating! –
You’re still that little girl who was so nice;
Great fondness we are stating,
Best wishes we’re creating,
All sent you by this digital advice –
To give love unabating,
And offer you our rating:
We see you as a gem beyond all price!

© Colonialist March 2013 (WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Grandchildren, Humour, Poems, Really Awful Rhyme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to REALLY AWFUL NaPaWriMo ENTRIES

  1. You’re a good poet, Col. 🙂

    Like

  2. melouisef says:

    Good for Nancy!

    Like

  3. adinparadise says:

    Love both of your odes, Col. You rose magnificently to the challenge. 🙂

    Like

  4. 68ghia says:

    Both good entries Col 😉
    I thought of trying to do this, but I’m not really a poet!

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

