WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: THE SIGN SAYS


 

(See sidebar for Translator, Music, Novels, Awards etc.)

When I am sightseeing, I love it when signs actually say a great deal.  It is much easier to take a photo of them on site than it is to gather brochures and literature to add to one’s excess baggage  (I always end up with excess baggage *sob*!)   Thus the information is handily packaged together with one’s actual pictures of the scenes.

I have found that the UK seems far better than South Africa at providing informative signs.  National Trust and English Heritage do a particularly good job of it, but even tiny places of interest often have excellent ones.  Here are some sets of examples; the signs followed by one of my photos of the actual place:

 Grange Sign 1

Grange Sign 2GrangeAvebury Sign 1Avebury Sign 2Avebury RingFairweather SignFairweather's Garden© Colonialist June 2013 (WordPress)

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Gardens, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: THE SIGN SAYS

  1. adinparadise says:

    You know something Col, I think I could live in that Grange. I’m sure hubby would find lots of scope for his DIY skills. I too need to photograph signs, as I often don’t really know where I am.

    Like

  2. SuziCate says:

    I take photos of signs as well. Helps me remember the info when I look at my pics. My memory isn’t what it used to be!

    Like

  3. I do the same with taking photos of signs. It really helps me keep the information organized. The newest thing is to have phone apps that correlate with the museum or garden site and then we use a bar code scanner that links the sign to a website with more information. Very high tech–of course, I can never make the bar code scanner work, but in theory, it’s exceptional!

    Like

  4. disperser says:

    Yeah, a good idea. Have been doing it for a while. In some parks it takes a bit of effort because they have plexyglass over the signs, and it can be difficult to get a reflection-free image.

    Mostly, they are for my own benefit, as I don’t pay much attention to names and the signs jog my memory.

    Like

  5. Fantastic post, Col. I love the signs that accompany places. What with that and the apps that the heritage organisations have begun to supply, one rarely has to buy the guide book! The Grange: twenty years ago, when it was derelict and boarded up, I happened upon it during a cycle ride. I never forgot it; such a strange way for a place like that to end up. I am very glad it is being looked after, these days. We have much to thank English Heriatge for.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      Amazing that you came across it when still lost and abandoned!
      It still had a rather forlorn and neglected air when we saw it, even though some life was returning. I would love to restore the gardens to what was shown on the signboard.

      Like

  6. yep, we do that well but cannot manage the weather to go with the sightseeing 😦

    Like

  7. optie says:

    What a great way of bringing memories back home with you

    Like

  8. misswhiplash says:

    very good , very informative and as you say the signs give lots of info….. Here in Bulgaria there are no signs…no road signs, no directive signs..nothing. The roads do have names but nobody knows them…and if there is a traffic diversion…well you just see one sign (an arrow) then nothing..you just get lost….

    Like

  9. Couldn’t agree with you more. Glad I’m not the only one who photographs the signs for memories. England and the USA are definitely better at this than SA

    Like

  10. Sonel says:

    Love the Avebury ring Col. Lovely signs and post for the challenge my friend. 🙂 *hugs*

    Like

  11. bulldog says:

    I like what you do with the sign than the area… I do this to remind myself of where I was…

    Like

  12. nrhatch says:

    I do the same thing . . . with digital cameras, why not?
    It’s like “nametags” for the places we visit.

    Like

  13. Wonderful pics which make me homesick !!!

    Like

  14. The Asian says:

    I’m sure you’ll find some job that will put food on the table and the. In your spare time, you can write and see if anything comes from it

    Like

  15. The Asian says:

    My brother thinks I’m weird for taking pictures of signs. Glad to know that someone else does it! 🙂

    Like

  16. 68ghia says:

    I would actually go to that learning garden – if I can see how it’s done, maybe i can then do it on my own.
    Good sign pics Col 🙂

    Like

  17. Colline says:

    I do this too. It also gives a little of the background of my series of photos.

    Like

  18. Excellent signs, Col.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

