CAPTION COMPETITION WINNER


 

I have been fully occupied with a formatting conundrum which finally revealed itself as having arisen  from pasting some sections into the manuscript.  My file said they were formatted identically to the rest.  The PDF thought differently and kept skewing and screwing things up generally.  I finally retyped the guilty section, after dozens of unsuccessful conversions, and that did it.

Snakes alive!Anyway, I have at last tallied up the votes for the recent competition.  They were pretty evenly spread, but after allowing three points for every top choice, two for second and one for third, the results came out as follows:

Tied for fifth place was an entry I threw in at the last minute to make the total up to 20 after I found I had entered one twice (and I then left out my original one anyway).  That caption was 

 

No fangs.  Didn’t you see the sign, ‘No Reps or Reptiles?’

The official results:

Fifth:

Lorna’s Voice

“And they thought it was Colonel Mustard in the dining room with the dagger…”

Fourth:

disperser

“Scaling the door”

Third:

Harmony

~ I said “civil SERPENT” not “servant!” ~

Second:

cobbies69

I’ve had enough I’m going! I am not a bloody draught excluder anymore.

AND THE WINNER!

Tokeloshe

I’ll h-i-s-s-s and I’ll s-s-s-p-i-t and I’ll s-s-s-t-r-i-k-e your houses-s down!

Congratulations!  Y0ur certificate:

Caption Certificate Tokeloshe

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Caption Competition, Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to CAPTION COMPETITION WINNER

  1. Well done, one and all. I love the certificate! And I’m honored to have placed in the competition. 🙂

    Like

  2. Tokeloshe says:

    What a nice s-s-surpris-s-se to come back to, we were on vacation, I am s-s-s-orry I wasn’t here for the voting, as there were s-s-ome good ones-s-s.
    Thank-s-s-s everybody 😉
    I love the c-c-ertificate, which is-s- going on my blog.

    Like

  3. adinparadise says:

    Congrats to the winners, Col. I think you should have won, as your caption was brilliant. 🙂

    Like

  4. Sonel says:

    What a beautiful certificate Col! You sure made this competition lots of fun! 😀 Congrats to all the winners! 😀 *hugs*

    Like

  5. nrhatch says:

    Woo Hoo! Congrats to Tok and all the winners . . . I bet they are ALL glad they didn’t win that monster of a snake. 😀

    Like

  6. Congratulations Tokeloshe! Brilliant caption!

    Like

  7. cobbies69 says:

    woohoo,, well done to the winner,, i am pleased to come second,,, not bad ,,, anyway Col’ well done for your efforts,,, ..

    Like

  8. Arkenaten says:

    Bloody fix..I hate this blog. 😉

    Like

  9. calmgrove says:

    A worthy winner. Even if I didn’t vote for it!

    Like

  10. The Asian says:

    Congrats to Tokeloshe!

    Like

  11. disperser says:

    Finally!! . . . something I vote for, wins.

    Like

  12. 68ghia says:

    Congrats to T for the win 🙂

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

