Of this and that with no rhyme, reason or pictures.


 

Formatting a novel in preparation for an edit has kept me out of mischief  for the past couple of days and late into the nights.  In fact, I slept through the arrival of some 30 mongooses on the front lawn this morning, and nobody got any pictures.  It was told to me by the family that one got really cheeky, and advanced on a fluffed-out MacGregor, who was not at all impressed with the intrusion.   He and the monkeys have an understanding, but this was something new!

The cheeky one suddenly noted that no reinforcements were coming up behind him and that Mac was significantly larger than he was, so he remembered a sudden appointment back in the forest and he and his very extended family scooted.

When I did get up, however, I yielded to some very loud pleas from the Pooch Pack and headed down the path to the beach accompanied by various-sized blobs uttering high-pitched yells of joy.  A slightly hazy sun gave enough warmth for my baggies to be enough clothing, and no breath of wind stirred until later.  The high seas recently have left only a scattering of finely-chopped shingle, but by dint of sheer perseverance I came across two nice cowries. 

I also found a bewildered octopus who had chosen to swim at the wrong moment and had got himself flung up on the beach by a wave and left high and dry.   He was making good progress across the sand – but in the wrong direction.  I scooped him up and he clung lovingly with all suckers while I transported him to a rock pool.  There, it took him a matter of seconds to swim to the side and merge with the rock there to become invisible – their camouflage is simply amazing.  He seemed to know I was no danger, and didn’t try and ink me.

I was rewarded for my kindness by being attacked by a sharp stick on the way back – my knuckles were lacerated.  Why is it that I generally return from the beach bleeding? 

I heard the unmistakable calls of ‘Spreeus’ this afternoon – Red-winged starlings.  They remind me so much of Knysna Heads, where they were a bit of a pest, but it is only lately that they have been in evidence here.  I wonder if they will replace the Mynahs?

Sad news from a friend – her niece was travelling back from Durban towards Harding where she was to be met by her husband, driven by a colleague on a winding stretch of road, when the driver swerved to miss an animal and went head-on into a heavy vehicle.  Both girls killed outright.  The niece has kids of 6 and 4.   

Our roads are becoming increasingly more of a menace. 

© Colonialist August 2013 (WordPress)

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Beach, Birds, Personal Journal, Seashells and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Of this and that with no rhyme, reason or pictures.

  1. gipsika says:

    😦 sad about the accident.

    The Durban vervet monkeys apparently steal parrots out of their bird cages and a troupe of them attacked my friend Natalie’s Maltese. But mongooses? (Mongeese?)

    Like

  2. MoreThanACat says:

    Thanks for sharing these thoughts – sorry to hear the bad news; but I am glad that the squid lived to ink another day.

    Like

  3. Arkenaten says:

    Rough about the accident. That sort of things tears you up, even if the folks involved were not close.

    Anyway, your morning constitutional sounds a bit more interesting than mine. Don’t come across octopuses in Obs.

    Like

  4. Octopus rescue is a noble act, indeed. Turtles breached my comfort level. Good luck with book formatting. I know that can be more challenging that avoiding getting attacked by sticks at the beach!

    And your news about the car accident–reminds me that kind acts of rescuing octopuses and being present for each moment is more important than fussing about margins.

    Like

  5. Terrible news about the accident – reminds me of the roads around here – I was driven off the road just a couple of days ago by a car on the wrong side of the road (fish tailing all over the place – either fell asleep or was trying not to hit an animal). I think that octopus knew he/she was onto a good thing (glad you didn’t get inked – what a great verb that is).

    Like

  6. The Asian says:

    An octopus sucking on you sounds very uncomfortable to me. I don’t think I’d ever volunteer to do something like that.

    Like

  7. Whilst I immediately told all Shrewsdays about the mongooses – how incredible! – I was aaddened indeed to hear of the accident. Just awful. Sorry I’ve been away, Col. Back in phone range now 🙂

    Like

  8. optie says:

    “he clung lovingly with all suckers while I transported him to a rock pool” – you do have a way with words Col 🙂 Sorry you missed the visitors and even sorrier to hear about the young women who lost their lives. I am constantly amazed and alarmed at the way some drivers take chances on the roads – it’s like they have some sort of death wish, sadly they often take others with them.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      My eight-legged friend did add to the enjoyment of my walk! Unfortunately the band of banded mongooses felt banned and didn’t return this morning.
      So sobering to think how much we are at risk every time we go out in the car

      Like

  9. That is very sad, Col…

    About the other, good on you for saving the octopus.

    Like

  10. granny1947 says:

    What dreadful news Col.
    Bet you were sorry to miss the visitors!

    Like

  11. I love the way you’ve written this, and now feel I know you just a little better. What a brave dog Mac was, I bet he was very proud of his skills at seeing off the mongoose intruders, tail held proudly high I imagine. Also loved to hear of your octopus rescue, I have never seen one on the beach, but have swum next to plenty while diving….they entranced me utterly with their shifting patterns and colours, so I can imagine perfectly the instant camouflage job in the rock pool. To me they seem very intelligent, and so I hate to see them sitting waiting to be eaten in trays in seafood restaurants…..but also have to confess to loving the taste. Why is life so complicated?
    And what sad news for your friend….

    Like

  12. 68ghia says:

    Such sad news Col. I’m sorry for your, and their loss.
    I don’t think I would have been able to pick up the octopus – they kinda creep me out!! But good on you for saving one of G-d’s creatures 🙂

    Like

  13. footsy2 says:

    Very sad Col 😦 But I do like the octopus bit – are they not delightful.

    Like

  14. cobbies69 says:

    just think when it is all finished you will be able to see and monitor as much as you like and think how much all your pains was worth it. 😉

    Like

  15. galan12 says:

    what a very sad moment and accident.. but like to see that octopus was thankful.. 😉

    Like

  16. bulldog says:

    Was about to like this post…thinking of the Red wings replacing the Mynahs, and hoping that they would.. (little chance though I think) when I got to the accident bit… how tragic… I do agree about our roads….

    Like

  17. Pussycat44 says:

    I travelled that road for two years! So sad about the girls.
    I haven’t see mongooses in our yard for a long time, but we do have many Spreeus.

    Like

  18. newsferret says:

    Sad ending, but you are right our roads are becoming a menace.

    Like

  19. disperser says:

    I can’t “like” . . . that is sad.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

