Of botany, bats, horticulture, swimming, frogs, and Japanese excursions.


  The weather was pleasantly steamy over the weekend, and I was in the pool as soon as I got up.
  The grandchildren have been missing their mother while she spent a work-related week in Japan, and were literally counting the days to her return on Sunday.  On Saturday morning, though, their father took total custody while Much Better Half and I went to set up the Durban and Coast Horticultural Society/Garden Judges’ stand at the Botanical Society’s Indigenous Plant Fair.  As previously, we featured a looped slideshow of prize gardens in the area, with a background musical accompaniment of various extracts from my compositions.   A vast number of plants were for sale as usual – it is quite amazing to see the variety in our indigenous species.  With the perfect weather, the buying public turned up in droves.

 Botsoc Indig Plant Fair 07092013243

  A stall near us had fascinating information on bats – one doesn’t realise how utterly vital they are in keeping insect populations under control.  Australia/Malaysia have a variety that is serious indeed about being a bat.  With the scary and totally misleading name of Pteropus Vampyrus (it is a fruit eater) this Flying Fox has wingspans of up to two metres!

Pteropus_vampyrus_headshot

Giant flying fox – pic from Wiki

Wiki pic

Wiki pic

   Another neighbouring stall featured frogs.  The bullfrog below is our largest local species – though not found on our coast – and had a body fully the size of my hand.

 Bullfrog 07092013241

  A further swim was enjoyed on reaching home.

Tree frog 2 DSC01457

  When locking up for the night, I had a tree-frog jump out at me from underneath Toby-Border-Collie in a corner of the kitchen.  No, I do not intend to bother my brain with how he got there and why.  Anyway, I persuaded him to let me take these pictures of him on my hand.

 Tree frog DSC01459

  More swimmy weather on Sunday, and I had a quick plunge before we shot off early to the airport for the longed-for return.  We met up with the family and kids of the girl who had gone with YD to Japan, and all of us breakfasted at Spur while the kids clambered around in the Spur ‘Canyon’.  At under R20 for two eggs, bacon, mushroom, tomato, toast, jam, and bottomless coffee, that meal was excellent value.
  Then came the great moment of emerging from the flight, and two little girls were ecstatic.  Especially when presents were doled out later!   We still have to hear all the details of the Japanese adventure. 

© Colonialist September 2013 (WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Education, Gardens, Grandchildren, Nature, Personal Journal, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Of botany, bats, horticulture, swimming, frogs, and Japanese excursions.

  1. footsy2 says:

    I truly love bats. In the Maldives the huge fruit bats fly around during the day, and hang around in trees at eye level. Quite delightful.

    Like

  2. The Asian says:

    Busy, busy man… The Spur “canyon” is the best thing ever, such a pity that I’m 30cm too tall to go into it now 😉

    Like

  3. optie says:

    The Spur breakfast is probably about the best value for money as far as breakfast is concerned, it’s very popular in our suburb especially with senior citizens. We have a little frog that makes soft clicking noises hiding under our water feature at the pond. Milo knows he is there and has moved rocks almost as big as himself in an attempt to catch the frog – not really sure how to protect the frog and the water feature from his attentions.

    Like

  4. Kathleen says:

    I love the brekkie at Spur… Good value for sure. 🙂
    As for the bats and frogs, I reserve the right no to comment on them.

    Like

  5. fruit bats are gorgeous and they roost in the thousands – much hated by a lot of people (not me) and they would shoot them if they could (but they are a protected species) – recent change of Government has meant that councils can now legally move the groups of bats on to another area by the use of loud noises and other strategies to scare them (charming 😦 )

    Like

  6. adinparadise says:

    That flying fox sounds quite horrific. 😯 Your little froggie has such a cute face. Can we also get to hear a bit about the Japanese trip?

    Like

  7. Sonel says:

    I love bats and frogs. Bet the grandkids had mom telling them all about her Japanese adventures. Great post Col. 😀

    Like

  8. 2 meters – good golly that’s a large bat. I must say I’m far more partial to the tiny little fruit bats that manage to appear cute, rather than scary

    Like

  9. That frog scared the you know what out of me!

    Like

  10. cobbies69 says:

    Something about the eyes,, popping out or just staring,, creepy.. but still, enjoyed the read…;)

    Like

  11. Glad the little ones got their mommy back, and with prezzies!
    I am terrified of frogs…

    Like

  12. Pussycat44 says:

    Should I or shouldn’t I kiss that bullfrog? Nah, I’d rather kiss the tree frog. He’s more handsome.
    Glad all’s back to normal in the Colonialist household.

    Like

  13. melouisef says:

    I like frogs
    🙂

    Like

  14. 68ghia says:

    I’v e built my pond, especially for frogs. They have yet to come. Hopefully that will happen soon!

    Like

  15. Arkenaten says:

    I like tales like this…family are important..or should be.
    Even though we have a large pond I have never encountered a frog i the garden.

    Like

  16. susielindau says:

    I love bats and frogs. I took a picture of a bat hanging out on the side of my house one day. It was nothing close to the size of your Flying Fox!
    Sounds like a great week, if a little long for the children…

    Like

  17. bulldog says:

    Had that spur breakfast myself… good value for money… loved the post Col…

    Like

  18. theonlycin says:

    Bats and bullfrogs scare me, but your little tree froggy is very sweet. Glad your daughter returned safely.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

