Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon – with intrusions


Isn’t it strange how I kept getting de tails added to my sploshy foreground?

Sorry, this is the best I can do with zoomed stills on my Handycam.  Without a tripod, the other cameras wiggle too much.

Whale splash

Whale splash

Thar she blows!

Thar she blows!

What have we here?

What have we here?

Whales1666

A whale of a tale?

Whales1671

Or a tail of a whale?

Look at him up in the air ...!  Well, he was. Anyway, how's that for a horizon.

Look at him up in the air … !  … well, he was.
Anyway, how’s that for a horizon?

© Colonialist October 2013 (WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Nature, Ocean, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon – with intrusions

  1. The Asian says:

    That’s a lot of de-tail that you’ve managed to capture in your photos 🙂

    Like

  2. bluebee says:

    Having a whale of a time, of course (sorry :-))

    Like

  3. Sonel says:

    Beautiful entry Colonialist. It must be quite fun to watch them play in the water. You are so blessed. 😀 Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. hahaha they are a bit hard to catch with the camera those whales 😉

    Like

  5. Good eye! You must be adept at spotting whales! 🙂

    Like

  6. melouisef says:

    How I would love a whale on my horizon…

    Like

  7. disperser says:

    I had a cetacean of a time looking at the photos.

    Like

  8. adinparadise says:

    It’s the intrusions that make your horizon so amazing, Col. 🙂

    Like

  9. Grannymar says:

    I saw it and it was size! Honest!

    Like

  10. nrhatch says:

    Your photos remind me of my photos trying to SNAP the action mid-flight. That’s why I’m so enamored of Nature Documentaries with ZOOM lenses that bring the action to ME!

    Like

  11. Pussycat44 says:

    Looks like you had a whale of a time getting these shots.

    Like

  12. 68ghia says:

    That is quite the horizon Col!!
    No matter the intrusions 😉

    Like

  13. whales are such magnificent creatures. I have spotted them a few times but my pictures are all of the “see that spot, that’s a whale” variety!

    Like

  14. OH WOW!!!!! I’ve never seen a whale, you’re sooo lucky! My humans are addicted to Whale wars at the moment they’re watching all of the seasons one after another! They are such magnificent creatures! =^.^=

    Like

  15. tobyo says:

    you are so funny! love the photo captions 😉 and I think it’s okay that the tails are in your photos.

    Like

  16. Your photos lead our thoughts to the horizon where magnificent water creatures await us…

    Like

  17. Colline says:

    I love your horizon contribution. It is certainly different to all the other contributions I have seen for this week’s challenge.

    Like

  18. Is this the view from your home, Col? It is gorgeous!

    Like

  19. bulldog says:

    I’m going to be in Marina Beach for three odd weeks the week after next… I will be out there trying my best to capture one or two as well…

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

