Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected Visitors


Banded Mongoose GroupIt might be wondered why such a poor specimen of photo-hood, taken through glass and not very clear, should have been chosen for the challenge.  Well, this first view through sliding doors of a group of Banded Mongooses on our front lawn after a long period when there was no sign of them was certainly unexpected – but the real reason is that I hoped to tempt any new visitors also to take a look at my previous post where I have told the tale of one of these little creatures behaving in the most unexpected way one could possibly imagine!

Incidentally, the total group now occupying the ‘basement’ of our home is the largest we have ever seen here.  There must be some 30 – 50 of them.  It is good news, actually.  We were becoming somewhat overpopulated with snakes, scorpions, centipedes, millipedes and the like, and these keen little hunters will soon correct that situation. 

© Colonialist November 2013 (WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Nature, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Unexpected Visitors

  1. huntmode says:

    Col, you had me right to the scorpion and then I said, “Ah, well, I’ll just keep reading instead of visiting…” Grin. As always, the photos are great!

    Like

  2. Where do you live that mongooses, banded or otherwise, should appear near your home?

    Like

  3. adeeyoyo says:

    Wonderful, Col. When I lived on a farm I had a group who all lined up outside my gate when I came home from work. Cute little guys and so curious! And, before you ask, I didn’t feed them. 🙂

    Like

  4. optie says:

    Excellent pest control – cute and effective, what more could one ask for?

    Like

  5. The Asian says:

    They look like some very thin dassies in this photo

    Like

  6. Grannymar says:

    Interesting visitors, I only have the neighbourhood cats who use my garden as a highway.

    Like

  7. bulldog says:

    These little fellows will certainly return the area to a good balance of nature before they move off,,, I am so envious of you with the troop… (do you call them a troop?)

    Like

  8. An excellent ecosystem at work.

    Like

  9. Pussycat44 says:

    Wherever they have been in the meantime, there must have been plenty of food as the trio look fat and healthy! They are the cutest creatures.

    Like

  10. Colline says:

    Sounds like that they are welcome visitors even though they are unexpected 🙂

    Like

  11. nrhatch says:

    I’m glad to hear that they make such great neighbors by gobbling up less desirable beasties!

    Like

  12. footsy2 says:

    I meant to ask you how many – 30 – 50! That’s a lot of mongeese. (Must sound like a riot a.m.)

    Like

  13. granny1947 says:

    They are so cute….send one my way please.

    Like

  14. Leanne Cole says:

    I like the sound of what they keep away, sounds great. They seem funny little creatures, I hope you all have a great time together.

    Like

  15. Wow, wish I had a view like this…

    Like

  16. newsferret says:

    Here we live with the expected … haa deee daaah they here again this morning, can you hear them 🙂

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

