A subject heading for disappointment, but not tailing off.


 

homerthinking

 

This is an observation rather than a complaint or lament.  

 

lisalaughingIt has occurred to me that although during the many years I have been blogging I have generally managed to get some form of wordplay into my headings/subjects, I cannot remember anyone ever commenting on that aspect of my posts.  Strange, that.  Some have seemed quite good, too.  At least I have found them amusing.

bartpoints

 I wonder if people even notice?

 

Anyway, it is a long-established habit I have no intention of abandoning for lack of encouragement.  I’ll just keep bashing away at it.itchyscratchy 

 © Colonialist December 2013 (WordPress)

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Blogging tip, Humour, Language, Personal Journal, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to A subject heading for disappointment, but not tailing off.

  1. You are a master wordsmith, Col. Of course I’ve noticed, I either smile, chuckle, or just shake my head. 🙂

    Like

  2. bluebee says:

    I’m with Kate – yours in admiration, and a hearty chuckle, or two 😀

    Like

  3. Sonel says:

    You’re always so witty Col and there are always so many things I’d like to say but the minute I start typing it the words just fade away. I wish I could be so good with words as you are but I’ll leave it to you. 😀

    Like

  4. adeeyoyo says:

    Oh, yes, I noticed, but I think the content of your post overshadows the heading and we forget…

    Like

  5. Ruth2Day says:

    I have to agree with others, I think we notice but don’t comment. The key thing is you pull us in with them! 🙂

    Like

  6. Grannymar says:

    I enjoy your play with words, but realise I have no hope of keeping up, never mind out doing you.

    Like

  7. Both your titles and posts are making me smile often, Col, though I try hard not to. Wrinkles, you know 😉

    Like

  8. bulldog says:

    Of course I notice, it is that very heading that is emailed to me when you post… in fact it is your headings that have made me think about mine … trying to make mine more catching as per yours… I have noticed some of my posts are not read by all the normal followers, yet since trying to emulate your style, post I’ve though might not make it have with people enjoying the title…

    Like

  9. Of course I notice!!! If it helps I often put funny, sometimes what I would call clever (might not be what others call clever) little puns in what I write…and nobody even notices. 😥
    😉

    Like

  10. nrhatch says:

    What? Like “Impala Lily ~ not an antelope”?

    Not only did I notice, but it sent my thoughts flying to impaling a cantaloupe . . . which made me fly out to the kitchen for a snack. By the time I got back, appetite sated, I’d lost my train of thought.

    Like

  11. Col, your wordplay is ALWAYS appreciated. But I am dismal at matching it 😀

    Like

  12. The Asian says:

    I generally have a good chuckle when I see some of your headings. I’ve never thought of ever commenting on it though, I always comment on the detail in the post

    Like

  13. gpcox says:

    It would be a bit too much if I said I had noticed it, so I won’t!l0l

    Like

  14. ladysighs says:

    I haven’t been following you long enough to notice I guess.
    I will probably just flip a coin to give you a thumbs up or down from now on.

    Like

  15. misswhiplash says:

    I am absolutely certain that everyone notices the headline , and especially because they are so witty…….BUT……..also because the content of your posts are even better than the headline it is possible that the witticism of the post takes over from the headline….can you sort that lot out xxxxx

    Like

  16. disperser says:

    I’m sorry . . . you blog?

    Yes, it is noticed. Can’t speak for others, but as I put some effort, often with similar intent at cleverness, in the titles of my posts, I take the act for granted. Might be others do so as well.

    And no, I’m not as obvious in my titles as you are in many of yours; mine are primarily aimed at myself rather than others.

    I could suggest that perhaps the practice has resulted in your clever titles being expected, and therefore they passed into the realm of things that are looked at, but not especially noted or commented upon.

    . . . it makes them no less appreciated . . .

    Like

  17. suzicate says:

    And here you do it again with this title…you play quite well with words!

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

