WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: ABANDONED, AND RIDING WRITING CYCLES


This mounting-bark is an upgrade from the 404 Station Wagon we toured Africa in ...

This abandoned mounting-bark is an upgrade from the 404 Station Wagon we toured Africa in …

I feel guilty that no sooner had I received the notification below than I virtually abandoned my blog.  OK, I know that this number of followers is no big deal, and it has taken me an awfully long time, but it still makes me want to keep a regular presence out of gratitude to them for having taken the trouble to click.

 500

REGRET

I also find that I get serious feelings of deprivation and suffer withdrawal symptoms when I stop reading, or skimming at the very least, all the posts of my favourites.

EXCUSE

I have read, with great scepticism, Astrological etc theories about annual cycles as influences on urges and activities or on success or failure.  Something I am forced to accept in my own case, however, is the effect of the current time of the year on my own urge to write fantasy.  It goes beyond coincidence that all the creative (meaning actual writing rather than editing etc) sides of my novels have been produced in a rush between February and April.  The greatest compulsion came with Regina, where some 118 000 words were written in six weeks, with a peak of 7 000 words in one day.

After I had pottered along with Darx Circle for month after month last year a nibble at a time, an urge to get stuck in properly came now at the end of January, and gathered momentum.  Since then I have added some 60 000 words, with 8 300 in the past three days alone.  As may be imagined, bearing in mind that I have to do research as I go and also that I edit each chapter several times during the process, this hasn’t left time for much else.  A cast of millions (the film budget is going to be interesting) also means that finding out their names is a challenge.  Yesterday, in fact, I turned down a train excursion in favour of scribbling.

ADDENDUM

This was written this morning.  Then I glanced at my manuscript …

1 000 additional words later, I am returning to post this.  Then I’m rushing back to go with the flow and to hope it doesn’t carry me over a waterfall.

QUESTION

Do you find any regular annual patterns in your activities which are not simply governed by the season?

GIGGLE AND CHALLENGE

 MTGG

This MTGG gave me a good laugh.  Then, as a rider of horses as well as of mounting-barks and writing-cycles, I noticed three things which make the caption inappropriate. Can you spot them?

Colonialist March 2014 (WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Books, Children's Fiction, Colonialist, verse, writing, music composition, fantasy, Africa, journal., Fantasy, Horses, Humour, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: ABANDONED, AND RIDING WRITING CYCLES

  1. I have plans and schedules then someone throws me a curve ball and off I go chasing that too 😉
    Writing when your head is bursting with ideas is better than trying to force it to fit someone else’s timetable, best of luck to you 😉
    I know what you mean about regretting not visiting your favourite blogs at certain times 😉

    Like

  2. adeeyoyo says:

    I wouldn’t know a horse’s ear from its elbow but thanks for the elucidation. Also, congrats on your followers – well done. I too have been taking it easy of late. Great news about the book.

    Like

  3. disperser says:

    No bit and reins, no saddle, and horses can’t talk.

    Unless, of course, the horse, of course, is the famous Mr. Ed.

    Like

  4. bulldog says:

    Keep the head down and keep on at it… good for you…

    Like

  5. My life is just one blobby mess – no routine or patterns emerge (I yam what I yam) 😉 Love that horse photo (have no idea what is inappropriate – do tell); and good on you for getting those words out.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      The words continue …
      I must be a freak on these patterns. Eek.
      The horse has no reins, it has a halter on (normally removed before fitting reins) and it is wearing a horse blanket which would normally be removed before saddling.

      Like

  6. Grannymar says:

    I am too overcome by the sunshine shadows to comment on anything else. It is raining again outside as I type. 😦

    Congrats on reaching 500. Mind you, you do not look a day over 50! 😉

    Like

  7. Colline says:

    I haven’t noticed any annual patterns except the overheating at Christmas time 🙂

    Like

  8. nrhatch says:

    Sounds like you’re rolling along with the present writing cycle ~ but to skip a train excursion seems a bit compulsive. 😉

    Like

  9. cobbies69 says:

    With me there is no consistency that I intend. Whether it be sunny summer sun or autumn winds a blowing. My post are dictated by moods and New Forest or what ever takes my fancy. I have just started a weekly Porch Story on my other blog. But do struggle for ideas. However I do enjoy reading your words they are so different and original,, keep the words flowing. 😉

    Like

  10. Congratulations on the verbal plethora. I’ve been away for 5 days, so hadn’t noticed any abandonment.

    Like

  11. Arkenaten says:

    I read ( occasionally) some weird Christian Pastor who so often gets only me as a commentator.
    Months go by and all he has is the occasional pingback on the odd post.
    His posts are like bloody tomes.often with huge swathes of cut n’ paste bible text, and he has over 1300 followers! When I read that I nearly gagged!

    I cherish every visitor, even cantankerous buggers nice Durban-type blokes like you.

    Like

  12. Pussycat44 says:

    1) There are no reins (but plenty of rain where I live).
    2) The horse is not saddled.
    3) No cooking clue 😉

    Carry on writing 🙂

    Like

  13. misswhiplash says:

    Oh nearly forgot .loved the abandoned bike

    Like

  14. misswhiplash says:

    500. Oh so lucky

    I think I have 5 but my stats say its more but I never hear from them. However for me it is not a problem What a very busy soul you are. I am surprised that you have time to sleep. Will it make you rich. Will you be a millionaire.

    I don’t, know any millionaires so it is nice to know you,can I have a loan Love p

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      Well, if the film version of the book has a cast of millions, and I ask an entry fee of ten pounds or dollars or something from each extra, that should do it! Now, to finish the book …

      Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

