REALLY AWFUL RHYME AND A TRAINING SESSION


For NaPoWriMo scene this year,
I will not get my ar rear in gear;
A limerick
Is nice and quick,
So that is all you’ll get, I fear!

Inspired by lunacy, you bet,
One year* I did the alphabet,
Each line would start
With that day’s part –
Now, just how crazy can you get?

 *2012

Train ride 30032014466

I blogged on 31st (links have stopped working; sorry) about training for the Distance Badge in swimming for young R. Over the weekend, just for fun, we took our visiting cousin from UK on another kind of training trip. This one was a lot less strenuous, and featured a short train journey as far as Umkomaas along the Natal South Coast. 

 We were the only pink-type faces to be seen on this scenic scene, and we got looked at strangely.  Our run-down train service is not well-supported by palefaces apart from special excursion trains laid on from time to time. Actually, it is rather a good way of going on an outing, and deserves more attention. 

Train ride 30032014465 Train ride 30032014482 Train ride 30032014476 Train ride 30032014473

Colonialist April 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Personal Journal, Photography, Poems, Really Awful Rhyme, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to REALLY AWFUL RHYME AND A TRAINING SESSION

  1. bluebee says:

    Wasn’t there an old steam train that used to do the trip down there over the weekends, Col? I seem to vaguely remember taking such a trip with my grandmother.

    Like

  2. Ruth2Day says:

    when I think of train trips, I think of my grandmother, sandwiches and a flask of tea, all enjoyed while being rocked within the train.

    Like

  3. I quite liked that poem. I didn’t know trains like that still existed. Takes me back. The nice old one I used to get from Málaga to Madrid got scrapped. It took a longer nicer route, was cheaper (big plus point there), more comfortable and better food. 100% win there.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      Part of my childhood was a two-day-and-two-nights train journey to fairyland, usually twice a year. Thus I still equate trains with magic.
      That one appears to have been lovely.

      Like

  4. Grannymar says:

    I will enjoy reading your contributions to whatever NaPoWriMo is. I dislike abbreviations even more than words that jump from line to line as I read. I love the photos and look forward to more journeys like this.

    Like

  5. melouisef says:

    Have not been in your province for years although we once lived there so I enjoy your photo’s

    Like

  6. I’m sure your pale-faced relatives enjoyed their train ride very much. Such beautiful scenery. How long are they staying for? The weather is really behaving itself for their visit. You haven’t lost your touch with the really awful rhymes. 🙂

    Like

  7. Sonel says:

    It’s really beautiful there Col and I love the beach around Umkomaas. My mom had 2 plet houses there in Widenham but I can truly say it was not much fun visiting with family. 😛

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      Lovely area. Pity there was something to spoil it for you.

      Like

      • Sonel says:

        It sure is and it was a pity indeed. The beach was just across the road from the resort but no, everyone wanted to go a beach 20 km further and of course, when you visit with family and it’s their place, you have to do what they do. That was the last time ever I went with family members. Of course I worked more than relax. No fun at all. 🙂

        Like

  8. Pussycat44 says:

    Some years ago there was a steam train excursion down the South Coast over weekends. That seems to have stopped, too. It used to billow smoke and soot in the direction of my flat when passing Amanzimtoti.

    Like

  9. I like your style of rebellion for NaPoWriMo. I can’t understand how anyone can be creative just because someone else says “Do it now!”

    Like

  10. nrhatch says:

    Have fun with NaPoWriMo . . . and loved the pics!

    Like

  11. suzicate says:

    I will not get my butt in gear either for NaPoWriMo.
    The photo of the bridge and water is amazing!

    Like

  12. misswhiplash says:

    Forgot about the rythme..that was beautiful too

    Like

  13. misswhiplash says:

    That looks like fun and the views are outstanding…how lucky you are to live in such beauty

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

