Really Awfully Adverse


Rhyming Prose!

For optically-challenged or cursive-cursing readers, here it is set out more clearly:

I thought I felt a poem coming on –
Verse of some kind went dashing through my mind –
But then I looked again, and it was gone;
I cannot find it; what an awful bind! 

So, frantically, I seek poetic muse –
Bling I can string into some pretty thing –
But, guess what, it is not the slightest use;
Time will not bring a rhyme that will take wing! 

I can suppose, for me, rhymes are no-goes,
For nothing grows to any kind of flows,
One knows it shows no poem then arose –
Instead, I chose to close with rows of prose. 

And, on the prompt from NaPoWriMo:

One must be
A bit of a lunatic
To write lunes

Colonialist

© April 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Humour, Language, Nonsense verse, Poems, Really Awful Rhyme, Wordplay and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Really Awfully Adverse

  1. Ruth2Day says:

    rhyming verse, my absolute favourite. Nice one

    Like

  2. I was introduced to the silliness and fun of words by a poster many years ago on a classroom door:
    Be alert
    The world needs more lerts!

    Always fun to read your poems even ones that over-rhyme! lol

    Like

  3. Sonel says:

    You are the King of Rhymes Col and I can see you had lots of fun as usual. 😀

    Like

  4. I never feel a poem coming on, Col. Applause!!

    Like

  5. calmgrove says:

    I find it odd that oftentimes
    the right mot juste that aptly rhymes
    elusive; just as ‘logarithm’
    fails to link at all with ‘rhythm ‘

    Like

  6. guyportman says:

    Good poem. Writing poetry sounds like a frustrating business from the sound of it.

    Like

  7. melouisef says:

    It is all in the mind you see 😁

    Like

  8. misswhiplash says:

    To be so clever with such wit At least I know you’re not a twit To put the words to create a rythm Just shows what can be done in time And so I say to you my friend You did do well…and that,s the end

    Like

  9. susielindau says:

    And yet here you are with a wonderful poem!

    Like

  10. bulldog says:

    I loved it Col…

    Like

  11. disperser says:

    Oh man! . . . it’s that month, isn’t it?

    Oh, woe is me
    That I should see
    The work of them
    Who hold that poems
    Are lovelier than trees.

    See? That’s why I don’t.

    Like

  12. I love this one, it expresses so well the frustrating life of a poet.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

