A Relatively Obscure High King Path


A Genealogist does like
On hidden paths to take a hike,
To follow up the faintest track
Which may lead somewhat further back. 

And on the Geni site, I find
They trace some paths of strangest kind –
Two such have had me highly placed,
With distant links to royals traced. 

Brian Boru

Though not descended, I am fated
To be, through marriages, related
To Irish High King, Brian Boru,
Which seven-times great aunt comes through. 

Half-sister of this auntie dear
Was married to, it would appear,
A man whose sister’s husband had
The famous High King for a Dad. 

QE2

Elizabeth the Second, too,
Has links by marriage coming through:
Involves Camilla, and entails
Her marriage to the Prince of Wales. 

No, here I am not kidding you,
These-here relationships are true,
I do not think, though, that the Queen,
To have me stay, will be agree’n’.

© Colonialist April 2014 (WordPress)
(For NaPoWriMo)        (Piccies – Wiki’s)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Genealogy, History, Humour, Really Awful Rhyme and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to A Relatively Obscure High King Path

  1. nrhatch says:

    If you send this clever poem
    to the Royals, you may see
    that when next they visit your home
    they’ll invite you out to tea

    Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    Brian Boru? I grew up five miles from where the battle took place! Mind you I was not around in 1014! Will you be coming over the celebrations? http://www.irishcentral.com/roots/travel/500-Vikings-descend-for-the-Battle-of-Clontarf-1000th-anniversary-fest.html

    Like

  3. Tom Merriman says:

    *Bows* though… just in case!

    Like

  4. misswhiplash says:

    Ah there, s many strange tales to do with our British Royalty, who are not British at all…and Prince Harry…well we all know about that but nobody actually says anything…interesting tho.

    Like

  5. I am honoured to know you, Col. If we should happen to meet again, I’ll bob a little curtsy. 😀

    Like

  6. Ruth2Day says:

    well hello there Sir, should we bow when we click on your blog these days?

    Like

  7. Your royal highness, what big eyes you have 🙂

    Like

  8. Pussycat44 says:

    I’m still searching for the German link to my ancestry, but no luck. Anything before the 1800’s seems to be non-existent.
    If QE2 knew you were related, albeit distantly, she would love your poetry 😉

    Like

  9. calmgrove says:

    I’m related to Adam, y’know. And Eve of course. But then we all are. Even if they never called themselves by those names. We’re all family. I feel a song or two coming on… Excuse me, I must go and lie down, and it’ll pass…

    Like

  10. I kowtow to Your Majesty. But the mention of the legend of Brian Boru in the same breath as QEII made me gasp – that’s one very rude song beloved of rugby players everywhere.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      My education has obviously been sadly neglected – maybe because in my first and only game of rugby ever, I caught the ball, and while wondering what to do with it ended up at the bottom of a large pile of bodies. After emerging, I dragged myself off vowing never to return.

      Like

  11. Serena Malcolm says:

    Love this. Such a clever poem… and what great genes 😉

    Like

  12. disperser says:

    Never had, and still don’t have the desire to trace my ancestry, knowing as I do that my genetic line ends with me.

    Also . . . not sure what to say; congratulations? Sorry? “Oh, that’s great!”? “Oh, too bad!”?

    Like

  13. Desire says:

    I’m quite sure people will pay good money to remove me from all and any references that get too close to home!

    Like

  14. suzicate says:

    Been on one of those genealogy hikes myself…the worst kind of hike I’ve attempted. We have proof (DNA testing) to our source but can’t get paper confirmation, ugh!

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

