Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument: Triple


Titanic, Clarens, Free State, SA
Monuments come in various kinds.  There are the natural ones, which have then been used to commemorate something built by people, such as this rock outcrop near Clarens in the Free State (Golden Gate area) which has been dubbed The Titanic.

Cape Town City Hall Symphony ConcertThen there are the ones represented by old and venerable buildings, such as the City Hall in Cape Town, seen here on the occasion of a Symphony Concert.

John Gibbs gravesoneA third category is represented by gravestones, tombstones, and monuments to the deceased.  This, of one of my Great Great Grandfathers in Sussex, England, was part of a discovery which opened up a lot of my background, including where the heck one of my names had come from.

© Colonialist April 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Genealogy, History, Personal Journal, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Monument: Triple

  1. bluebee says:

    Is that ‘Cibbs’ or ‘Gibbs’?

    Like

  2. Love your take on the challenge, Col. The tombstone is my favourite. I’ve never seen any family tombstones. I wouldn’t know where to start looking. 😦

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      In the UK they are becoming increasingly easy to track down with a basic knowledge of free genealogical resources. SA is a bit more of a battle, but I’ve gone back to the sixteen hundreds on a few of those.

      Like

  3. The Asian says:

    I’ve never been to a cemetery before though I think it would be interesting to walk around and read what all the gravestones say. Maybe I could find a nice plot for myself and start thinking of what people should put on my gravestone while I’m there 😉

    Like

  4. I like the way you have divided monuments in three categories, and love the last one most. How special to be in the presence of your Great Great Grandfather’s last resting place.

    Like

  5. Ruth2Day says:

    City Hall, my word, I’ve only been there once to watch my youngest daughter sing as part of a Choral evening. Had forgotten how it looked.

    Like

  6. adeeyoyo says:

    I’ve been toying with the idea of checking out my family tree…???

    Like

  7. nrhatch says:

    I love that symphony hall! Beautiful.

    Like

  8. So you are a Gibb, and it seems the Gibb men like their women older 🙂

    Like

  9. Anthony says:

    What is it with people and cemetery’s? I like to go there and just sit in the silence and have something to eat and drink. Is that normal?

    Like

  10. We’ve always enjoyed poking around cemeteries, the older the better. So interesting.

    janet

    Like

  11. I’ve been to Cape Town, but I didn’t see the city hall. I realize now that I should have!

    Like

  12. misswhiplash says:

    Wonder what they will put on my headstone

    Like

  13. misswhiplash says:

    I really enjoy walking amongst old gravestones and reading the headings, some are so old that they have nothing left at all. One that I saw in Godstone Surrey was that of a highway robber who met his end by being caught and hung from a nearby tree. Years later someone had the idea of putting his remains in the churchyard and his grave is right outside the church door so everyone could keep a watch on him.
    could be true but its a great tale and his grave is definitely there…you can learn a lot from the past

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

