TEEN, SCARES, WIND UP AND WINDOW DONE REALLY AWFULLY


(Translate; Vertaal; Vertalen; Traduire; Übersetzung: μετάφραση: Tradução: Перевод; Traducción: )———->
(Click on Sidebar items on right for translations, to play Colonialist compositions, or to visit his writings etc.)

I had all the rhymes below set out for a post in response to prompts by Pooky’s Poems, but they needed tinkering and some other things kept coming up.  Urgent edits, a constitution to revise for a meeting tomorrow, J’s birthday, and so on.  Then, the computer shut itself down and I was careless in saving the documents I wanted to keep.  Result: one lost poem, and a whole lot of editing gone.  The third one below is a brief summary of a much longer original effort.  The fourth was added today – as usual, I even insist on rhyming a Haiku.

Advice to a Really Awful Teen Self:

 Top of Junior School –
Not a stroke of work –
Doesn’t mean, you fool,
That you can still shirk;
Now a High School lad,
Get down to some grind,
Or, things turning bad
Are what you will find!

Scary Really Awfully

I do not easily get a fright
At things that bump around at night,
Nor do I freak at spectres who
Jump out at me and utter, ‘Boo!’ 

I can remain completely calm
With spiders creeping up my arm,
And zero panic, to me, brings
A clingy stingy thing with wings. 

I get along quite well with snakes –
Hysterics are mistakes one makes
Confronted with all serpent-kind –
Stay calm; they’ll slink away, you’ll find.

At sharks, I cast a wary eye
Whenever one should happen by;
From Big Five game, I like to stay
Respectful distances away. 

But these things don’t concern me much,
And nor do thunderstorms and such;
However, some that do cause fear
We have in any number here. 

Take politicians with no brains
(Unless creating gravy-trains),
Plus putrefying piles of slime
Devoted to a life of crime. 

Then, also, switching lane to lane,
Are drivers who are quite insane,
With road rules totally ignored –
All courtesy goes by the board! 

These causatives of utter fear
We have in great abundance here,
And such things petrify me more
Than all I’ve mentioned here before. 

Get Wind Up Really Awfully

For ‘wind up’ don’t think ‘wind-up toy’,
That’s ‘whined’ and ‘wined’ – just to annoy –
The sort referred to here is twinned
With binned and grinned and sinned and pinned. 

To ‘get the wind up’ is a fright;
One wonders if they’ve got that right –
When frightened, leaving shades of brown,
One surely let the wind get down! 

I do a Haiku Really Awfully from my Window.

I’ve seen a sea scene
Looking through my window view:
That’s where I’ve just been!

Sunrise

© Colonialist May 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Humour, Poems, Really Awful Rhyme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to TEEN, SCARES, WIND UP AND WINDOW DONE REALLY AWFULLY

  1. CC Champagne says:

    That view!!! *deep, envious sigh* All of these are great! Very impressed!

    Like

  2. Love the haiku and the sea scene, Col. I also find those politicians really scary, and the petrifying drivers are utterly hair-raising. 😯

    Like

  3. bluebee says:

    Look on the bright side: that view does not take in Nkandla.

    Like

  4. Grannymar says:

    The only snakes in Ireland are…. Politicians!

    Like

  5. big grins, bigger chuckles, belly laughs and envy for the indian ocean view. Thankyou.

    That line about the politicians is sheer genius.

    Like

  6. PookyH says:

    You have been busy. I am left in agreement about your fears and green with envy about the view from your window.

    Like

  7. Sonel says:

    Really awfully good as usual Col. Such a beautiful scene from your window indeed. 😀

    Like

  8. cobbies69 says:

    out of my window is a small park, and I do also get really annoyed at people switching lanes and getting no further.. 😉

    Like

  9. misswhiplash says:

    Your fears I sort of agree with , but snakes I do not like , or creepy nastry ticks and fleas.
    now I have seeb view from window, spectacular, I have seen the garden, immaculate, now may I please see the house…stop teasing me….
    la

    Like

  10. Colline says:

    The view from your window is absolutely stunning.

    Like

  11. disperser says:

    Your fears are the same as mine . . . but from my window I see only other windows looking back.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

