COMMENTS THAT VANISH OR WON’T POST


A simple little blogging tip: if ever you are struggling to get comments to ‘take’ – for example, if before or after you have written  a comment  the comment box looks like this:

Comment blank

You will usually find that by clicking in the box you will be able to get this:

Comment detail

Before you even try to obtain or click the ‘Post Comment’ box, though, and particularly for a long comment, it is always a good idea to highlight all you have written,  and right-click to give you a ‘copy’ option while resting the pointer on the highlighted text.  Very often, this action alone is enough to clear the system, and the comment will then go through.  If not, and either you lose it or lots of nothing still happens, refresh the page and use ‘paste’ to try again. 

If it still fails, try another browser. 

Either way, the action of having taken the copy means that you won’t need to re-write the comment. 

It is, in fact, a very good habit to ‘copy’ all longer comments before you try to post them.

© Colonialist May 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Blogging tip and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to COMMENTS THAT VANISH OR WON’T POST

  1. libraschild says:

    I just find wordpress is clunky hence my being so absent… sigh

    Like

  2. I can hardly wait for this to happen to me, now that I know how to combat it!

    Like

  3. The Asian says:

    I always copy my longer comments. Experience is a very good teacher!

    Like

  4. Good reminder! I have definitely had a few “dreadful” failures!

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      The latest thing WP is doing to me is failing to show a comment, but insisting that it has been posted – maybe that is when a blogger has elected that all comments have to be moderated.
      Your blog is a case in point.

      Like

  5. Grannymar says:

    I have been doing this for a long time. My main trouble is with some ‘wordpress.com’ blogs, They show the line: Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in with the four icons on the right. My correct details appear in the boxes,but posting the comment does not work, they want me to use an old URL that only goes to outer space. Do you think the blog owner is trying to tell me something?

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      There is probably a simple fix – simple to a three-quarters-insane computer programmer, anyway. Which is what they all are. Why they seem to find pleasure in hiding functions in obscure places is a mystery to me.

      Like

  6. bulldog says:

    I am so struggling with comments at the moment that I copy virtually all of them before I hit the Post button…..

    Like

  7. Yes, I’ve also learned the hard way, Col. Blogging can be so frustrating at times. I just did a post, and then found that my writing under the photo didn’t appear when I published it. I’m sure it was probably my fault, but I don’t know what I did wrong. 😦

    Like

  8. calmgrove says:

    Sometimes I have difficulties using a small mobile phone touchscreen that I don’t have on a laptop, and it’s a faddle trying to copy and save anything. But a good remember to make it good practice.

    Like

  9. Doesn’t happen very often with WordPress, but Blogger and Blogspot comments disappear all the time, and have those horrid squiggly codes to prove (how?) that I’m not a robot.

    Like

  10. galan12 says:

    Very good tip,, I have actually done this… have had some sites not accepting.. 😉

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

