Really Awful punk chew hate shun


 ,   .   ;   :   ‘   ’   “   ”   –   —   /   …   (   [   ]   )   ?  !

This Really Awful Rhyme follows Pooky’s Poems prompt for an unpunctuated poem.  It makes reference to, and leaves out, all the commonest ones as shown above. 

Challenge: I dare anyone to try and punctuate this, using the clues given, so that it uses all of the marks and makes sense.  Warning: there are some places where it may seem punctuation is needed, but to put it in would cause it to go wrong.

 

commas dashes and the like
can from here all be left out
so ellipses take a hike
full stop right not left no doubt 

 

theres no place for slash oblique
hey no exclamation mark
and apostrophes dont seek
brackets square or round dont park

 

semi colons never show
youll be shot do not do so
must a question mark here go
with a colon answer no 

 

he said punctuation stinks
commas none inverted came
ah yes quote for as he thinks
so he is response to same

 © Colonialist May 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Language, Really Awful Rhyme, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Really Awful punk chew hate shun

  1. Ruth2Day says:

    not a chance, if I had a go you’d have fallen face first onto your desk!

    Like

  2. ee cummings has a lot to answer for
    I defy the punctuationphobes
    to read their poetry aloud and make it
    make sense where to pause
    and where the voice should rise and fall
    and even when to breathe
    if the rules are missing God help them

    Love,
    ViV

    Like

  3. MoreThanACat says:

    As a dyslexic I find I write first – punctuate second, and then hope to God I haven’t got it too wrong. So I don’t know about the right way to punctuate this poem … but it reads beautifully 🙂
    On a teaching note, can I use this with my top set year 10?

    Like

  4. What fun….you’re so exuberant with your poetry 🙂

    Like

  5. melouisef says:

    Use as required
    , . ; : ‘ ’ “ ” – — / … ( [ ] ) ? !
    😀

    Like

  6. Sonel says:

    O dear me, I wouldn’t even try. You’ll start laughing and will never stop Col. I can’t do that to you. LOL!

    Like

  7. cobbies69 says:

    No challenge from me, but will say I love it, this is my type of read… and clever, atleast in my simple mind it is. thanks for the smile. 😉

    Like

  8. misswhiplash says:

    I could try and I think I would win
    but would not advertise my sin
    for if I made a great boo boo
    not again would I converse with you
    so to get it right would be okay
    but I shall leave it till another day
    Not one dot and not one comma
    don, t see very right or proper
    for no get time to stop to get the breath
    surely results in certain death

    Like

  9. disperser says:

    Were I an editor and english my first language try I would to place the marks where convention says but I don’t always agree they belong.

    Like

  10. The Asian says:

    Just because I’m feeling adventurous

    Commas, dashes and the like
    can from here all be left out –
    so ellipses take a hike…
    Full stop. Right not left no doubt

    There’s no place for slash/oblique.
    Hey! no exclamation mark
    and apostrophes don’t seek.
    Brackets (square or round) don’t park

    Semi colons never show;
    you’ll be shot, do not do so.
    Must a question mark here go?
    With a colon answer: no.

    He said “punctuation stinks”,
    commas none inverted came.
    “Ah yes!” quote for as he thinks,
    so he is response to same.

    Did I manage 50%?

    Like

  11. Colline says:

    Loved to give out exercises like these when I was teaching grade 12. I would have loved to see what they would have done with your challenge 🙂

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

