Tip for inserting a link in WordPress


I find that the ‘link’ function no longer works on my blog.  That is to say, when I highlight the words I want to form the link and click the button ringed in red:

Link 1

I duly get the ‘Insert/edit link’ box, and it accepts the linking address, but when I select ‘Add Link’ lots of nothing happens.

The solution is to do it in ‘Text’ instead of ‘Visual’.   After searching out the section with the desired wording, one highlights that, and then one gets the ‘Insert/edit link’ box by selecting , amazingly enough, ‘Link’.   (If only the programmers for all computer functions would be as straightforward with everything, instead of making one play guessing games.)  After pasting in the HTML – being careful to replace the ‘HTTP://’ already there while so doing and not simply add another such preamble – the ‘Insert’ will now work.  One needs to go back to the ‘Visual’ function, though, to verify that it has ‘taken’ – the word/s will have changed there to reflect that they now form a link.

Link 2

Of course, this may only be applicable on my rather old theme (which I happen to like), but – whatever!

 © Colonialist May 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Blogging tip and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tip for inserting a link in WordPress

  1. Tokeloshe says:

    That must be so frustrating, I hate it when things don’t work.
    I don’t get email notifications on comments, at least I see them on the top bar under notifications, I suppose I should contact WP.

    Like

  2. Gobetween says:

    My WP reader is now working after being out of action for about 2 months. Looks like the tech guys fix one thing and break another.

    Like

  3. Ruth2Day says:

    my linking seems to be fine . . . she says, hoping it still is!

    Like

  4. calmgrove says:

    In the text box, after you’ve managed to insert a link, you can copy and save separately the html wording (‘<h ref…' etc) for future use, substituting the URL and the wording you want to highlight.

    It's a bit fiddly but easier than remembering the code, and especially useful when adding a link in a comment on another blog post.

    Like

  5. Thanks for the tip, I tend not to use the text tab much but my Dad suggested that I take a look and see what’s happening under the bonnet 🙂 but I just normally send it to him and ask him to link it all up, bit like when he still fills my washer bottle in the car.

    Like

  6. susielindau says:

    I just added a link old school and it worked…

    Like

  7. footsy2 says:

    I have never attempted to post a link in all years I have been blogging. But would love to know how, so thanks for this. Will save for when I have time :-).

    Like

  8. melouisef says:

    Last time I tried linking it worked , could it be your browser?

    Like

  9. I always use text. Can’t cope with visual. Text tells you what is going on.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      Text only tells those who have been through the necessary learning curve what is going on. Otherwise it makes eyes go glassy and start looking at one another.

      Like

      • Text is for control freaks, I do confess. I tend to write up in html where nec and copy across. Easier. It is the easiest way to identify probs though. Now to sort out how to write a blog post after weeks in hospital.

        Like

        • colonialist says:

          I have managed to pick up a few of the basics and they are extremely useful. It does, as you say, give far more control.
          Weeks in hospital does NOT seem like fun. I hope you are well on the road to recovery!

          Like

  10. misswhiplash says:

    Gawdy lawdy I can, t cope with all that lot..so using my wit I will leave links to those who know how to do it..

    Like

  11. Buffy says:

    Thanks! I struggle with adding links and I can never remember how I did it!

    Like

  12. I’ve never had a problem, and I use visual the whole time. NB don’t forget to check the box at the bottom to “open link in new tab”, otherwise you will lose your reader to the new http!

    I just found a new word, which describes a certain poet to a T: verbicide – a person who willfully distorts the original meaning of a word…..

    Like

  13. I hate when simple things become complicated!

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

