Wishlist.


I wish I could find time to blog, and do more than frantically read all new comments and as many as possible of the posts coming up on my emails.  I wish I could find time to get my ‘downgrade’ from XP to 7 (I did SO prefer XP!) to speak to my cameras.  I wish I could share all the recent photos, from move to renovations to R’s graduation from her preschool (mortar boards, the lot, and she sang in a trio which was the only non-choral event).  I wish I could review ‘Aladdin’ and ‘Dolphins by Starlight’ which so delighted the kids.

I wish I could tell you about Macgregor, after dreading moving him and wondering how we could keep him inside for weeks and butter his paws and all of that … he said, ‘Oh, so this is our home now, is it?’ and settled in virtually on the day of arrival.  Obviously a people cat rather than a place cat.

I wish I could do full justice to the sagas with floors and ceilings and living in confined spaces and injuring myself on a daily basis (today was two large panes of glass toppling over and scraping down my legs before I caught them in the nick of time – multiple bruises and abrasions).

I also wish I could relate the tale of the trampoline, the mat of which had to be sent via Pinetown to Johannesburg a month or two ago to have new tags etc sewn on.  I collected it yesterday as a surprise for the kids, and took the frame, which I had personally dismantled and transported, out of the garage. Then I was able to scrounge spare springs from the neighbour next door, and I erected it with a vice-grip and tremendous effort.  At that point I decided that I had put the mat in upside-down, and that the fancy perimeter should go on top.  I was battling to dismantle it when a friend called, and said he would be able to make a tool to do the job.  I then found that a long screwdriver worked well, and took it apart and put it together but for the last couple of springs, which needed an extension to the screwdriver I was using.  I went to the cottage to find something suitable and when I returned to the lawn below the house, there was friend beaming proudly at an again-taken-apart trampoline – his invention had worked and he was just about to start putting it on upside down again.

I wish I could tell you about the neighbour behind us who introduced himself by yelling furiously, ‘Your dog has chowed my chickens!’  Toby the Border Collie had found the one vulnerable spot in the back fence we had so carefully constructed, and had burrowed underneath it.  The pet chickens had to go to the vet and after being hospitalised were put down – an interesting little reduction in my bank balance.

Such a pity I lack any opportunity to blog all these things.  They might have interested a few people.

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Grandchildren, Personal Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wishlist.

  1. Gobetween says:

    It amazes me that you can sound so positive. I would have thrown an epic fit by now.

    Like

  2. calmgrove says:

    Welcome back, Col, missed your (virtual) voice, but having just also moved I totally empathise. Sometime I too will also relate what I won’t relate about how we moved and what we found here…

    Like

  3. Kev says:

    May all your wishes come true… or at least the one about being able to post everything you mentioned. 😉 Merry Christmas, Col 🙂

    Like

  4. nrhatch says:

    HO~HO~OH~NO! Sounds like life is full of challenges for you at the moment. I’m feeling a bit the same. Our refrigerator died in the night. I’m glad I don’t have company coming for dinner.

    Like

  5. Tooty Nolan says:

    Your time will come!

    Like

  6. Oh My word Col…think you also will be pleased to see the end of 2014. Hang in there!

    Like

  7. Sounds as though you need Santa to send his elves to give you a hand there. 🙂 Well done to R on the singing. You must have been so proud of her. McGregor has obviously been the least of your worries. The neighbour who donated the springs is obvously more friendly than the one with the chickens. 😀 Merry Christmas to you all.

    Like

  8. Grannymar says:

    In ten years time you can write a series of posts under the title: Did I ever tell you about…..?

    You have been missed, but not forgotten. Take care and try to enjoy the festive season. See you on the other side.

    Like

  9. misswhiplash says:

    well ..what can one say….look on the bright side..2015 might be better
    But of one thing you can be absolutely certain…we all love you the way you are

    Like

  10. Ruth2Day says:

    hello there 🙂 hope the wish list transpires to reality soon

    Like

  11. susielindau says:

    Sounds like a lot of drama! Hang in there.

    Like

  12. Colline says:

    They would have. I have missed seeing you around and reading your witty posts.

    Like

  13. cobbies69 says:

    Whatever your wish they will come to fruition soon enough…I wish you have a great Xmas and new year…

    Like

  14. footsy2 says:

    Have missed you and also wish you and yours a very happy Christmas.

    Like

  15. Arkenaten says:

    Settling in nicely I see? Our very first dog, Bruno, once brought home a chicken! We didn’t ask and he wasn’t inclined to tell.
    Fences definitely need to be mended with your foul neighbour.
    I am surprised you missed the opportunity for that in the post!

    Like

  16. They would, I’m sure, have fascinated the entire blogosphere. But the headline version gave us the gist. Hang in there, and it will all come ou tin the wash.

    Wishing you and yours the happiest Christmas possible under the circumstances.
    love,
    ViV

    Liked by 1 person

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

