Being Firm and Assertive.


 

After getting up this morning, I sploshed into our new portapuddle to cool off, boinged onto the trampoline to warm up, and then got set for the labours of the day.

‘We’re going for a drive to the Midlands,’ I was told by an assortment of grandkids, Much Better Half, and Younger Daughter.

‘I’m not coming,’ I said.  ‘Too much to do here.’

‘Oh, come on!  It’ll do us all good.’

‘No.’  I said in definite tones, and watched, still dressed in my soggy Speedo, as the rest of the family prepared to leave.

I got looked at.

After a new record for shaving, dressing, and grabbing cameras and sofifth, I climbed into the car.  Being looked at is serious stuff.

I enjoyed yet another sight of Howick Falls, the green and lush Midlands generally, and an  excellent lunch at Hebron Haven Hotel in the Dargle Valley.  They have a menu with some fascinating history, including the tale of Preller’s Millions and Preller’s ghost

It also contains some spelling and grammatical errors – echoed on the website.  On return, I sent a message offering my professional editing services.  D’you think I’ll get a response?

?????????? ??????????

© Colonialist January 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Grandchildren, Humour, Personal Journal, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Being Firm and Assertive.

  1. Tokeloshe says:

    I’m glad you went, those falls are magnificent.

    Like

  2. My favourite mistake is whole for hole, even when I get it right I change it 😀 to the wrong word. My Mum has ‘that look’ I know exactly the one.

    Like

  3. Tooty Nolan says:

    To boing. The act of boinging. I like that. I also like the numerically superior suchfifth. Wish I’d thought of it.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      The inflationary language was, if not invented, heavily exploited by Victor Borge way back when! As in feeling twoderful. Going for a boing is one I thought of without other references. Probably lots of others have thunk the same think, though.

      Like

  4. Zirkie says:

    All the best for 2015, Col! I don’t think you will get a call back! 🙂

    Like

  5. Wish I were there. How lovely. Happy New Year, Col.

    Like

  6. Barb says:

    Looks like heaven. Good luck.

    Like

  7. The Asian says:

    Sounds like you ended up having a good time so it’s a good thing you tagged along. I hope you charge a decent price if you hear back from them 😉

    Like

  8. Pussycat44 says:

    I checked out their – outdated – website and I agree with you!
    The Falls are still as lovely as ever.

    Like

  9. guyportman says:

    That is a very impressive waterfall. I’d swap your Midlands for ours.

    Like

  10. Great pic of the falls, Col. I suppose that whether you get a reply or not, might depend on how tactful you were. I hope that the errors on the menu didn’t spoil your appetite. 🙂

    Like

  11. well you may not get as powerful a response as being looked at!

    Like

  12. Arkenaten says:

    Errors such as – ‘Menyou’ ? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  13. misswhiplash says:

    And you would have needed to find something else to post…

    Like

  14. misswhiplash says:

    Just think of what you would have missed if you had stayed at home by yourself…wonderful scenery and great food

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

