Methodical unpacking …


Dolphins By Starlight

‘ The time has come, the dolphin said, to hunt for many things; for shoes (not ships or sealing-wax, nor cabbages or kings), and cables, multimeters, or stuff that fortune brings …’  (Adapted very loosely from Cabbages and Kings in Alice).

I was diving into boxes looking for shoes when I came across a sander I have been hunting for.  That means I can do the headboard and side tables far more easily – Much Better Half won’t let me put them in un-repainted, so we are using grotty little tables at present.  Anyway, the sander needs a cord.  The cord that fits stopped working and is totally boggling my mind, because my tester, which enabled me to detect and fix a break in another extension cord recently, insists there is live current from one end to the other.  So, the only thing I can think of is something wrong in the sealed plug at the end.

Now, I was vainly hunting for shoes and another cable, but instead I came across a multimeter, so that means I can do a continuity test on the faulty cable – when I remember how to drive the thing, and if I can find where I put the cable.

Further hunting for shoes finally unearthed a USB cable for my mobile phone.  To date, hours of effort have failed to link wirelessly, so I have had no access to all the photos on it taken since our move.  Suddenly I have hundreds of them – now all past history rather than being current affairs (though the break in that cable is a current affair in more ways than one, it occurs to me!) but I shall pop one in from time to time anyway.  For starters, the above shot is from our evening at ‘Dolphins by Starlight’.

Now let me hunt for shoes again …

© Colonialist January 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Ocean, Personal Journal, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Methodical unpacking …

  1. gipsika says:

    I love your style of unpacking! LOL.

    A very belated very happy New Year, everything that is Better, this year. Sorry that I’m so scarce. Hope your unpacking soon begins to ravel rather than unravel.

    Like

  2. Lily Lau says:

    I’ve never been as productive and efficient while looking for shoes, hahah! Yay for you! 😉

    Like

  3. calmgrove says:

    I sympathise too, Col; even though we offloaded so much before we moved last year, we’re still locating stuff we don’t want but not what we do. Bon chance!

    Like

  4. Oh, can I ever sympathize! I have more boxes than I do possessions–and they seem to keep multiplying! Moving is stressful enough. Settling in is even more grueling!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. gpcox says:

    If you keep losing those shoes, you’ll end up finding a whole new house!

    Like

  6. de Wets Wild says:

    Sounds like a treasure hunt!

    Like

  7. Grannymar says:

    Happy hunting. By the time you find the shoes they will all look new to you again.

    Like

  8. Lovely image, Col. I thought it was we women who were always searching for shoes. 😄

    Like

  9. That’s the worst thing about unpacking. All the rabbit trails one goes down trying to find that thing…….Good luck, Col.

    Like

  10. suzicate says:

    Sounds like you’re going to be being with all those tools and gadgets!

    Like

  11. footsy2 says:

    I do hope those dolphins are happy…..Fairly horrified by the Blackfish docky. On the upside I am sure that if they weren’t, they would not perform. Have witnessed dolphins blatantly disobeying their trainer – funny if it wasn’t so sad ….

    Like

  12. Heheh – ek identifiseer met daardie soektogte! Hoop die skoene duik op.

    Like

  13. misswhiplash says:

    problem solved…cut off the sealed plug and put on another….just remember you are doing good work

    Like

  14. Pussycat44 says:

    Too late, too, to give hints on “how to pack sensibly”. Good luck, Col, and you can still show us some of those pics.

    Like

  15. I read the word “multimeter” as “mutilator” so you can just imagine… 😜 Good luck with the shoe hunting.

    Like

  16. It’s really awesome. 🙂

    Like

  17. It’s really awesome. 🙂

    Like

  18. Did it occur to you that it might be the socket that’s faulty? We have a similar situation here, 18 months in from the move! And today, just to make life delightful, two hulking men in boots are tracking mud in and out as they instal a woodburner in the living room. This is our backstop in case of power cuts, as everything here is electric.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

