Really Awful Poetry


 

(Click on appropriate section of sidebar on right for translations, writings, compositions, awards and special series.)
Interior

The Monday trip has coached my train of thought, making me all steamed up about poetry.

 So far this month, I think that you will find
All of my stuff has most precisely rhymed,
But now, for variation – just you watch! –
I’m using rhymes which don’t exactly match,
Which is true poetry, or so I have been told –
Such subtlety adds impact to the whole;
And meter, which religiously I follow,
I will hopelessly mix up, so I have lost all control, now;
To this I need to add, in verbiage flowery,
Obscure utter-(nonsense!)-ances – maybe re the mask of words in poetry
Which transcends any rules of time or space,
And uses wildly mixed-up features all in haste: 

Employing every obscure analogy,
Like malicious clouds firing bullets of rain,
And thunder with a rumbling apology,
From deep inside its hibernating den,
To give a warning to the swarming lemmings
That paradise lies not past the cliff,
And that migratory in-tendings
Will end up in having lots of bodies drift; 

Forthwith one rabbits on with original rhyme-scheme again,
Just so that you can get back to the same stream, and then
At last a rhyming stanza you allow,
But no real sense is needed, even now … 

Hey, this is kind of neat! D’you think it is sufficient
To enter for, and win, a major poetry competition?

© Colonialist April 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Humorous rhyme, Humour, Nonsense verse, Poems, Really Awful Rhyme, Rhyme, Satire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Really Awful Poetry

  1. The Asian says:

    And the Noble Prize for Literature goes to Colonialist! *polite appluase*

    Like

  2. beeblu says:

    What a rebel you are, Colonialist!

    Like

  3. Grannymar says:

    I just about manage the wurds
    Whatya do with them at times is absurd.
    But I can do no better
    So I’m off for an hour in my scratcher!

    Like

  4. Patrecia (with an E) says:

    absolutely…I know that different kinds of poetry have different types of endings but what they are called is beyond me

    Like

  5. No, but it’s very, very clever! As you know, I’m a devotee of half-rhyme and slant rhyme, so I really enjoyed yours.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

