Really Awfully Difficult Poetic Form.


  (Click on appropriate section of sidebar on right for translations, writings, compositions, awards and special series.)
I spotted these cloud formations at sunset this evening, and sprinted quickly down the road for a proper capture.

I spotted these cloud formations at sunset this evening, and sprinted quickly down the road for a proper capture.

 

I started a landay yesterday for NaPoWriMo Day 19, but then came a power cut.  I hadn’t been watching the clock, so I lost it before I could save.

Then, after return, I wrote three – and the computer froze.  After I had restarted it, I found that those, too, had not been saved.  I gave up and went to bed.

However, I don’t give up easily, and on the new attempts tried to see if I could, as well as doing the nine plus thirteen syllables, accommodate the traditional endings on ‘ma’ or ‘na’ sounds:

   The landay gives me a dilemma:
Its origins provide a strong comedic stemmer.

   Pushtan women, for freedom greener,
Used landlays to provide an expressive arena. 

   Afghanistan needs a reformer
To lead them to women’s rights: a relentless stormer.

© Colonialist April 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Africa, NaPoWriMo, Nature, Personal Journal, Photography, Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Really Awfully Difficult Poetic Form.

  1. Grannymar says:

    That sky is heavenly! I can almost hear a celestial chorus. Oh sorry, was that you singing? 😉

    Like

  2. bulldog says:

    Col you always manage to astound me… Yep that clock watching for power cuts, pain in our existence..

    Like

  3. Andrew says:

    These are really REALLY awful when one attempts to recite them with the hard “R” of Yankee English !

    Like

  4. Tom Merriman says:

    I always struggle with my rhymes, but you make it seem so easy, Col.
    And that is one fantastic sky!

    Like

  5. I commend your poetic persistence. I can empathise with your frustration.

    Lovely sky pic.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

