A Really Awfully Good Review


(Click on appropriate section of sidebar on right for translations, writings, compositions, awards and special series.)

For the penultimate  NaPoWriMo poem – Day Twenty Nine – I feel entitled to rest on my laurels a bit.  After all, I have already written over thirty this month.  So in response to the challenge for a poem in review mode, I am giving yet another airing to a review of two of my novels by a fellow writer who is a dead certainty as having achieved fame.

It came through the medium of a medium of better than medium ability (written in the style of ‘The Rape of Lucrece’):

Shakespeare Review of 'Tabika'

© Colonialist April 2014 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Colonialist, verse, writing, music composition, fantasy, Africa, journal., Fantasy, Humorous rhyme, NaPoWriMo, novel idea for a poem, Parody, Really Awful Rhyme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Really Awfully Good Review

  1. gipsika says:

    Wow, Col, that is what my kids would term an AWESOME review! Do you have it scanned as an image, could I include it on the site? it’s too good to miss!

    Like

  2. Grannymar says:

    Well deserved words of praise, young man!

    Like

  3. I would love to have read this, but my eyes aren’t up to that typeface, even magnified. But I take my hat off to you for giviing us a Shakespearean parody.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      For you, I keel-a da bull!

      We who, in time spent living on the earth,
      Didst ply our pens to earn our daily bread,
      Seek yet for writings underprop’d by worth
      From people there whose days are not yet sped;
      So came to me Chris Marlowe in amaze;
      Quoth he, ‘Here is a passing wond’rous thing;
      Come hither, Will, direct hereto your gaze,
      For written here is what the angels sing.’

      Thus hastened I to learn of what he spake:
      Two volumes small he pointed out to me;
      Fair pages that must hearts to quicken make,
      With covers of the greatest artistry;
      And on the first, emblazoned was the name
      ‘Tabika’, which appeared in letters clear;
      Indeed, the second title was the same,
      But also‘Book Two’ had been added there.

      Straightway read I; my admiration soared;
      For trippingly the sparkling phrases flow;
      Such wit as well beyond the hazard scored;
      Amusement such as one can seldom know;
      These players strut their stage to bring delight;
      Their tale recount, dear friends, with mastery;
      And tribute I must render as its right:
      This writer’s greater, even, than were we.
      Yours in all duty,
      William Shakespeare

      Liked by 1 person

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

