Really Awful Reaction and Action and Near-Deactivation


 

Granddaughter J is the first to pose in the Shrek The Musical cut-out just completed in the workshop of Greg King.  I judge it is going to become a much-photographed item in the foyer of the theatre!

Granddaughter J is the first to pose in the Shrek The Musical cut-out just completed in the workshop of Greg King. I judge it is going to become a much-photographed item in the foyer of the theatre!

I haven’t given up blogging …
Well, not de-lib-er-rate-ly,
No, I have been taking a flogging,
For blogging’s given up me!
My Windows gave me its swan-song,
And Office also said, ‘So long!’
For what I had got badly wrong
Was losing the flippin’ key! 

To stop the Windows from quitting
I traced that wretched one,
It hiccupped, and said, ‘Ah, that’s fitting;
More trouble, you’ll have none.’
But Office key would not emerge,
Of madness I was on the verge,
But IT expert gave a surge
Of genius, and ‘tis done! 

Otherwise, our ho-hum existence includes unscheduled power-outs, serious bush fires in the suburb, and an elderly lady friend who yesterday punched a robber in the face and drove off dragging him when he wrenched open her car door and demanded her cellphone. Then there is the matter of some gales and high seas we experienced last week, when a 28-year-old son of a friend who was waiting to cross Durban’s Esplanade had a pane of glass blow out of a penthouse and sever his spine just below the neck. It was thought that he would be a quadriplegic, but at least he does still have the use of his arms, by some miracle. Then another friend lost control of his motorbike on a trip through Mpumalanga and broke lots of ribs and things. The BMW is a write-off. This morning another elderly friend, on his way to do some shopping in a taxi, was involved in an accident where the taxi was clobbered fore and aft, and then had a lorry go into the side of it on the other side of which was his side. Which is now bruised, and the reaction was not good for his blood pressure.

There is more, but that will do for now. Loadshedding has just ended, and I have editing to catch up on.

© Colonialist July 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Grandchildren, Humorous rhyme, Personal Journal, Photography, Really Awful Rhyme, Theatre and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Really Awful Reaction and Action and Near-Deactivation

  1. Pingback: Tragedies, contd. | Colonialist's Blog

  2. Tokeloshe says:

    Ah, cute, I love cut outs 😉
    Computers can’t live with them can’t live without them.
    I am sorry about those accidents.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      By the time the kids actually saw the show on Saturday, the cut-outs were in the foyer and well-patronised!
      These things are supposed to come in threes – I hope the four doesn’t mean another pair are due!

      Like

  3. My goodness! What a list of calamities! I think I’d be concerned about leaving the house! Seriously, these are some really frightening incidents and I’m particularly sorry to hear about the young man with the severed spine. I hope you get your own computer/Internet outages “righted” before long. Very sweet photo–your granddaughter is adorable!

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      A frightening list, indeed!
      My daughter visited the young man this evening, and he still has an amazingly positive attitude about it all.
      A sad side-issue is that his parents have been working for years towards setting out for the wide blue yonder in a yacht they have been living on for years in preparation. Now they are going to have to sell it and forego their dream.

      Like

  4. beeblu says:

    ‘Tis a crazy place, SA, but the people have spirit. What an awful accident your friend’s son had. 😦

    Like

  5. Kev says:

    Is that really shrek… I though it was a new kind of space helmet… Shrek from outa space, maybe? Got the green thing going, after all… err, that was men from mars, right? 😀

    Like

  6. I’d say that internet problems are the price you pay for living in such a magical place on this planet. It’s all about compromise, right? Great picture, by the way!

    Like

  7. Grannymar says:

    trouble never comes in ones, they say bvut heck you certainly had more than your share. Stay strong my friend, like the lady who clobbered the robber!

    Like

  8. Tom Merriman says:

    Blimey, Col! When it rains, it rains!
    Hope things ease for you now… sounds like you need a breather!

    Like

  9. Oh my goodness!! What a horrid lot of bad news. So sorry for that poor young man. I wish him well. Little J is so cute and has a gorgeous smile. 🙂

    Like

  10. Patrecia (with an E) says:

    I don’t think you need anymore…what dreadful things to happen….I might be your friend but I am so grateful that I am not in your vicinity and only have these damned fleas to worry about

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      I am, indeed, starting to wonder whether friends and acquaintances have become an endangered species!
      As for fleas – we found the only solution was one of those droplets-on-animal’s neck solutions which makes the fleas infertile. (You only need to treat one of any number of household pets – fleas are very sociable and it soon gets all of them.)

      Like

      • Patrecia (with an E) says:

        Dont I know it! We have no carpets on floor, dogsbedding has been washed over and over, I have tried ever silly idea on the internet, I comb the dogs and cats over and over again, strong vac sucks up every bit of dirt. Yet the little blighters will not vacate the premises. I even tried some idea of water in a bowl with a candle.they are supposed to try to reach the warmth, jump up and land in water and drown….did it work? No of course not

        Like

  11. You’re having a really awful time. The IT problems are well known to me, but we can live through those, at a pinch. The rest is horrendous. Where is your Good Fairy in all this?

    Like

  12. newsferret says:

    Not the kind of excitement I would like.

    Like

  13. Enough for a TV series. Life has gotten so complicated here, too.
    Hang in there ( don’t even get me started on MS Windows.arrrrrgh)

    Like

  14. disperser says:

    . . . unsure about hitting “like” . . .

    Like

  15. Oh boy sorry to hear about these incidents. Great photo 😊

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

