Really Awful Car-lamity, Exercising Temper-Rants*


The cause of the problem!

The cause of the problem!

Selling cars, the regulation
Calls for forms for registration;
Phoned: ‘We close at half-past-two;’
Went at two the deed to do.        

 Woe! The gates were firmly closed –
‘Cept when leaving was proposed –
Guards at gate waved all away,
‘You come back another day.’ 

I watched everyone comply;
Did I also?  No, not I!
My quick temper, when I choose,
I am quite prepared to lose! 

Parked my car, and stormed inside
Soon as gates were opened wide
For someone to be let out,
And ignored each outraged shout. 

Door of office also closed,
And admittance was opposed
Even to some sorry bloke
Who popped out to have a smoke.

Signs outside, in clearest sight
Said two-thirty time was right;
Kicked the door to have a grouse,
Man said, ‘Thees ees not your house!’ 

I assured him that it was,
And explained that was because
It was bought with cash from me –
As was paid his salary. 

Tried to push my way in; *sigh*
They were stronger than am I;
Stood outside the door and fumed …
Effort seemed completely doomed. 

Thought of taking mighty charge
Through that wretched door to barge,
On reflection, that did seem
Just a little bit extreme.* 

Then at last came to that door
Someone who knew more the score –
Begged for forms I need to find,
And she said she didn’t mind. 

Though still mad, I thus got through
What I had gone there to do;
Men at gate, about to shout,
Took one look – and let me out!**

*See?  Temperance!   🙂
**I did glare at them a bit.
© Colonialist July 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Colonialist, Humorous rhyme, Personal Journal, Really Awful Rhyme, Wordplay and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Really Awful Car-lamity, Exercising Temper-Rants*

  1. I read this to hubby whilst we were sitting at Heathrow. He was most impressed with your tenacity. A bit like a dog with a bone……..you wouldn’t give it up easily. 🙂

    Like

  2. TBM says:

    Oh goodness, I can never rhyme and to do so after this stress. Impressive.

    Like

  3. Tom Merriman says:

    Means to an end, Col… at least you were sorted that day instead of a future one. I’d have probably just turned around and gone back at a later time…

    Like

  4. Sonel says:

    And you could even rhyme after that? I take my hat off for you Col! There would have been ‘murder’ headlines in the papers if that was me. 😀

    Like

  5. Grannymar says:

    Col, did you not know that you are not supposed to interrupt staff on a Friday they are far too busy preparing for the weekend activities!

    Like

  6. oooh eerrr! Mr Man…getting stroppy worked! well done to you for digging in your heals and refusing to be budged….I bet it was fun to watch!

    Like

  7. Clever saga…glad it all worked out…and they let you out (How we all hate those offices and forms….)

    Like

  8. Dis ongehoord dat ‘n mens die burokrasie so kan oorwin! Jy moes absoluut formidabel gewees het :0)

    Like

  9. Pingback: Sea-through doors | Colonialist's Blog

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

