Adverbs used real awful


To use the proper adverbial form

It seems, sad, that is no longer the norm –

For the ‘-ly’ one must sparing place

So now, one’s finding requests to, ‘Come quick!’

Which makes me increasing feel a bit sick

It is simple an utter disgrace!

 

When I’m told, ‘I great do want that thing bad!’

It is quick inclined to drive me full mad!

And, ‘Eat hearty!’ makes me feel the same;

To clear hear someone ask to ‘Rest easy!’

Is sad sure to make me feel real queasy:

No good ‘-ly’-dership left, is to blame!

Just to have a quicky piccie, here's a licky kitty cramped a bitty.

Just to have a quicky piccie, here’s a licky kitty cramped a bitty.

© Colonialist July 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Cats, Editing, Grammar, Photography, Really Awful Rhyme, Wordplay and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Adverbs used real awful

  1. Zirkie says:

    Mr Mac is a beautiful cat and very catly! 😉

    Like

  2. I remember my strict English teacher drilling the adage into my head, “You can find the adverb in the sentence by spotting the ‘ly’ at the end of the word, if you are quite desperate.” She loved to have us diagram sentences! I suppose that the language, like all things, changes. And we must adapt or be doomed to be labeled curmudgeonly linguistic dinosaurs. 😐

    Like

  3. libraschild says:

    IS the cat really big or the chair really small? to repeat ruth2day’s question?
    i am now going to feel queasy about the phrase rest easy

    Like

  4. Ruth2Day says:

    now either that kitty is very BIG, or that chair is very small. Great photo

    Like

  5. Marco says:

    The cat will lead the way, haha! Do they still teach grammar schools?

    Like

  6. My maiden name is an adverb- this is one part of English grammar I have managed to not fu*k up 😉😂 I’m glad you still are blog pals with me despite the absolutely awful grammar I demonstrate lol

    Like

  7. Well said, Col!. The SA news articles these days are positively cringeworthy. 😦 Your cat looks determined not to be too big for that seat. 🙂

    Like

  8. I’m with you all the way. Bête noir: How are you? “I’m good thanks”

    Like

  9. Loved this! What a gorgeous cat you have there.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

