A Musical Re-Dusk-covery


Dusk

Scrabbling through a stash of sheet music in one of our garages, in a box still to be unpacked further, I came across the piano score of ‘Dusk’ by composer Cecil Armstrong Gibbs (1889-1960).  He was a popular songwriter of earlier years, studied under Vaughan Williams, and was a friend of poet Walter de la Mare, a number of whose poems he set to music.

This haunting piece, with its wistful yet lilting main theme, was familiar to me from being the theme tune on a radio serial I heard often in my youth (Mary Livingstone MD). and it has reappeared in many guises over the years. I read that Queen Elizabeth II (then Princess) requested that it be played at her 18th birthday celebration.

I am in the process of committing it to memory – not as easy a process as it would seem from listening to it, because tied notes and big stretches require some tricky fingering.
I couldn’t find a piano recording, but this orchestral one conveys the melody well enough, and has the added benefit of being unabridged – the piano score follows the shorter version. 

I wonder for how many readers it will strike a chord 🙂 and in what context.

© Colonialist September 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Music, music composition. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Musical Re-Dusk-covery

  1. rhbblog says:

    Off to check contents of piano stool! Thanks for solving the theme tune question for my husband, too.

    Like

  2. Tokeloshe says:

    A beautiful piece, which I don’t think I have heard before and it would be nice to choreograph.
    I agree with philosophermouseofthehedge, as it reminds me of Musicals of the 60’s.
    Thank you.

    Like

  3. From the age of elegance and style. It is familiar, but not sure from what – some movie, I think…will have to wander through some from that wonderful genre when movies – even TV specials were crafted with fine characters, setting, and plots. Grace Kelly-ish. Impressive you’re adding this to your brain’s play list.

    Like

  4. Kev says:

    Nice! 🙂

    Like

  5. Very familiar. But then I’m an old radio fan. It’s very hard to memorise music – I could play the first page or two of most things and then would dry up. Nowadays I can’t even remember any of my own poetry. Jock can still reel off reams of Burns and he’s 82…

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      Memory is an annoying thing as one progresses into more senior citizenship. I used to be able to zip through a piece after years of not playing it – no more. I need a refresher. Then, I have always had a talent for memorising – pity it wasn’t matched by skill in performing.

  6. I never heard it before . It is lovely, haunting and soothing.

    Like

  7. Barb says:

    Lovely in its simplicity. How wonderful to find an old friend (in music). Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  8. calmgrove says:

    Although it has a generic familiarity it doesn’t ring any bells, sadly. Hope it does for others though!

    Liked by 1 person

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

