In Which I Catch Another Attack of Synchronicity


Knysna Heads

Knysna Heads – I have climbed both, and been on most of the rocks visible.

 

On 4th September I was editing a book from an overseas writer who has chosen to set a key scene in my hometown-of-youth, Knysna. I was quite amused at the leap from London to there, of all places. Anyway, the scene includes a feature I don’t remember having been present from my Knysna days, and I spent some of my morning in trying to trace someone to check it with (rude bunch; no responses to date). That included my old school, Knysna Primary, which I Google-Earthed to verify that the location was still the same.

That evening we were booked to see a performance at young R’s school of a solo play called ‘Catch’ done by Jacobus van Heerden. It lasts an hour. I was prepared to be bored, and to watch four-year-old J being very, very bored. Not so. She was entranced throughout, as were we all. He plays all of the parts, from Felix, the 22-year-old rock-star hopeful, to the nerdy 12-year old schoolboy Fred, to the bible-thumping grandmother, Glynis, as well as the school bully and the drug-dealing villain.  He is aided by some ultra-violet-lit props.

Felix runs away from home in Durban and hitch-hikes to – you guessed it – Knysna!  Given the morning activity, that was surprise enough.  There he takes up lodgings with Glynis, and an alliance is formed with the recently-arrived Fred who is seen standing up to give a disastrous introduction of himself at his new school – you guessed it again – Knysna Primary!  

To say I was boggled would understate the case. You have to admit that having such a specific location crop up twice so independently in the same day is stretching coincidence rather far. If that appeared in a novel I was editing I would suggest to the author that he/she should get real.

Anyway, I can heartily recommend seeing the play if ever it comes your way, and also reading the romance novel when the wraps are taken off.  Both are highly entertaining.

© Colonialist September 2015 (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Africa, Beach, Editing, Grandchildren, Personal Journal, Theatre and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to In Which I Catch Another Attack of Synchronicity

  1. Serendipity ☺️ you’ve had signs now you just have to figure out why

    Like

  2. Ruth2Day says:

    almost a truman moment. Maybe not? Not sure? But surely a coincidence of note

    Like

  3. libraschild says:

    hehe i think its a sign. you need to go back there to visit

    Like

  4. I so understand when you say “boggled.” I have had quite a few of these moments myself lately. It is quite boggling and mind blowing. 🌺

    Like

  5. adeeyoyo says:

    I have heard it said that there is no such thing as coincidence – but I have yet to learn why!

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      That takes one into terribly deep philosophies of interconnectedness!
      There is some fascinating science and maths tending to prove that one of the natural laws is an urge towards going into synchronisation. Like satellite pics of groups of jungle fireflies in swarms too far apart to be visible to one another, but flashing on and off at the same instant.

      Like

  6. Stephanie Haahjem says:

    Wow! Now THAT is amazing! Just love happenings like that, Some years ago, I received a letter incorrectly delivered-same house number, but completely different street and suburb. As it was only a couple of k’s away, in Wychwood, I drove down and popped it in the correct mailbox. As I was about to drive away, a lady drove up to the house and asked whether she could help me. I told her about the incorrectly addressed letter, and she asked what my address was. I told her, she said “hang on”, ran inside and came out with a letter addressed to me! Now THAT was synchronicity in action!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tokeloshe says:

    Knysna is one of the most beautiful places we were fortunate enough to visit.

    Like

  8. MoreThanACat says:

    Just remember truth is stranger than fiction 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. gipsika says:

    This is Annemarie’s novel? It’s a gorgeous story, I think the readers will love it.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

