A Quartet of Trios with Coda


In response to The Daily Post Weekly Photo Challenge Trio:

The Three Banded Mongooseteers

The Three Banded Mongooseteers

This trio is banded together,
By musical ties you can sever …
(Though squeakers they be,
Harmoniously,
Which is, I suppose, very clever.)

 

My trio tools - yes, of course I play them all at once!

My trio tools – yes, of course I play them all at once!

And talking of trios, I wrote some of those,*
And these are the instruments three that I chose,
A piano for order,
An Alto recorder,
And violin simply to get up your nose.

*This is the latest here.

 

A trio of Egyptian geese.

A trio of Egyptian geese.

Men who on this here cast a stare
Will all be observing a pair –
For on ground only two;
Third’s a gone-a-head view …
Keep abreast – geese, not tits, are birds there!

 

IM000566.JPG

Tree trio – plus some static.

A tree-t-meant of trios in trees
Tree-mendously tree-sured are these:
The tree-limb-inaries
Show in-tree of fairies,
All tree-bly eager to please.

A trio is a lumberjack?
But understanding you may lack:
In Afrikaans, ‘ou’
Is some bloke that you know –
If a trio, he’s OK a stack!

© Colonialist (WordPress) November 2015

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Colonialist, verse, writing, music composition, fantasy, Africa, journal., Humorous rhyme, music composition, Photography, Really Awful Rhyme, Weekly Photo Challenge, Wordplay and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Quartet of Trios with Coda

  1. Kev says:

    I don’t believe you… I want to see you playing all three instruments simultaneously… Where’s the proof? 😀 :D:D

    Liked by 1 person

    • colonialist says:

      *indignantly* Just click on the link to my trio, and listen! Piano done by me and violin by myself, and I did the recorder part, too! For that, it took me a lot of practice to get those notes smoothly above two octaves, and it was quite a relief when any of the instruments do solo bits.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kev says:

        Mm… ok then. Wait a minute… some of your instruments played solo? Must be gifted instruments to do that! 😉 That’s how you manage them all simultaneously… now it make sense! 😀

        Like

  2. Barb says:

    Obviously your ducks have great discernment regarding the arts.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Stephanie Haahjem says:

    A triumph of trios, even tough it’s a quartet!

    Like

  4. Lovely collection of trios and rhymes, Col. Cute Mongoosteers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Colline says:

    Nice collection.

    Like

  6. Some excrutiatingly lovely puns here. I bought my recorder at a Vide Grenier ( empty loft) for one euro, to help fill the void left by my departed piano and clarinet.

    Tri ond keep up, Viv.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      There might be some debate on the ‘lovely’!
      I am getting a bit ridiculous with instruments. My downsized piano joined the existing full range of recorders from sopranino to bass, my harmonicas, and my two violins and clarinet. Then I added a guitar, and this week I purchased a 54-note keyboard. Lunacy.

      Like

  7. Grinnik… ek bly doodstil!

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

