Does a RATion of RAT admiRATion make them bRATts?


Rat admiration as R and J admire a hamster upgrade ...

Rat admiRATion as R and J are shown her hamster upgrade by the niece of a friend …

 

The penultimate day of GloPoWriMo calls for a string of remembrances, while the current Weekly Photo Challenge theme is Admiration.

I recall when elder brother was a cat

I remember when a budgie was a friend,

The memory is dear of a bluebuck* that

Would follow when exploring ways I’d wend,

Then to mind will come a little white bundle

Which would yap at every other dog in sight

From a bag slung on bike as we would trundle;

I remember how he snuggled in at night …

When smuggled into hospital to see me,

I remember how much better, then, I felt;

And the loss of bird and dog, assuredly,

Were the worst blows up to then that life had dealt …

I remember then came German Shepherd puppy,

My great friend into my early adult life,

And, oh, how well that dog then brought me up; he

Even lent a paw in choosing my dear wife!

*Blue duiker, or Royal Antelope.

© April 2016 Colonialist (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Cats, Dogs, NaPoWriMo, Personal Journal, Photography, Poems, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Does a RATion of RAT admiRATion make them bRATts?

  1. Pingback: Admiration (Flower Parade 1) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Husband not keen and road too near. Needs must

    Like

  3. Tom Merriman says:

    Ah, the little friends that come along a shine their own little lights for a while. Nice one, Col!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Memories revived. I miss having animals about the house.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Admiration – WoollyMuses

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

