A Weakening Week


I have been indulging in dashing heroics this week.  Dashing heroically from task to task.

A typical day started with wails from our live-in housekeeper that a tap had broken – fortunately nothing a bit of ingenuity and a Leatherman couldn’t fix.  Then I had to supervise and assist in a major clean-up of rubble, cuttings (the better part of a forest) and general junk which renovations have scattered freely from one end of the property to the other.  In between were excursions to fetch and carry kids from school, to swimming, and all that.

Sick mommies this week have meant that I had extra kids to collect and distribute around the neighbourhood.  I also had to keep two of them under some sort of control while waiting for R to finish her Squad Swimming session.

There has also been the little task of installing Office 2016 to replace the dying edition I had, and of collecting a new modem to take over from my ailing one (installation still to happen).  Persuading the former to do my bidding, and restoring some of the tools I am familiar with like Photo Editor, was a major chore.  I also had to do battle with our bankers – some ‘system upgrade’ resulted in reverting to our previous address and to losing all the documents one has to produce proving residence etc.

We even dashed off to attend a political rally to meet our MP and local candidates.

Steenhuisen addresses DA meeting at Bluff

MP John Steenhuisen bluntly labelled our a-steamed president Jacob Zuma as a crook.

In between, I squeezed in my 6-monthly medical check-up (chronic asthma to be kept under control), nipping over the wall by ladder to backwash and clean the next-door pool for our recently widowed neighbour, and maintaining a Community Policing presence with stickers on car, and uniform. Today also involved supporting R in an inter-school netball match the other side of town.  Her team won 2 – 0, so that made it fun.

R in netball action

R (centre) handles a successful catch and throw.

Little things like bolstering a broken strut on a wash-line, and bolting to repair a non-bolting bolt on our front door, and replacing street numbers destroyed in painting operations, are merely by the way.

So bloggers who are feeling neglected by me can be assured that they would not be if I could figure out a way to do without sleep – which is a bad habit I have cut down on as far as I can.  Also, unfortunate authors who are waiting for overdue edits – please be patient, your call will be answered by the next available operator …

© May 2016 Colonialist (WordPress)
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Africa, Current Affairs, Grandchildren, Personal Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Weakening Week

  1. Tom Merriman says:

    Phew. Col, I need to take a nap now… you can have a rest as well! 😀

    Like

  2. granny1947 says:

    Good grief Col, am exhausted after just reading that.
    You should be kinder to yourself.
    Stop and smell the roses.
    I thought the organ grinder was excellent.

    Like

  3. susielindau says:

    I hope you get to take a nap over the weekend!

    Like

  4. I remember that kind of day being normal, way back when.

    A Mac was on my shopping list after my old laptop died, but it cost more than twice as much as the pc, and I’d have to learn new systems at my too-advanced age, I womanfully said no thanks..

    Like

  5. Ah, so that’s what “dashing” means 😀

    Like

  6. Joss says:

    busy busy life . full of getting things done. I’d be ashamed to put my list up next to yours.

    Like

  7. equinoxio21 says:

    My, my… you are the universal man.
    (I have a leaking tap in the house, do you think you could squeeze some time to look at it?)
    (Can’t pay the plane ticket but I’ll be glad to provide room & board!) 😉
    On another note: go to Mac. Scrap your PC. Switch to Mac. I have a few years ago. And don’t regret it for a minute.
    (A-steamed president? Anything to do with hot showers?)
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • colonialist says:

      As long as you can point me to the water main, I’m sure I could sort it in five minutes! As I am used to MS, I’m sure I would Mac up any other system.
      Haha on showers (and isn’t it ridiculous that Zapiro should take flak on the simple concept of an organ-grinder’s monkey? Most appropriate, without any ‘racist’ connotations.)

      Liked by 3 people

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

