By Gum, Stuck for a Solution to a Hairy Problem …


I was still tidying the courtyard, and laying some slasto in positions where it will be later persuaded to remain, when an emergency presented itself.  The grandgirls had both managed to get chewing gum in their hair.  R (8) promptly had hers dealt with by an irate scissor-wielding mother.  I didn’t want to see the same done for J (5) as, to my mind, she has already had too many haircuts.  So I forbade scissors anywhere near her while speculating wildly as to what would melt chewing gum.

‘Ah,’ said young R brightly.  ‘Let me google it.’  In no time at all she had swiped her mother’s phone (without permission) and reappeared waving it and announcing triumphantly, ‘Look, you use creamy peanut butter or olive oil.’

I am simply amazed at how quickly she got into Google and inserted the right key words for the desired response.  (Mind you, come to think of it, I was actually flying an aircraft at her age …)

Anyway, I subjected the stuck hair to oil, and was then able to comb the gum out.  Pity R didn’t get the solution in time to save some of her own hair from being sacrificed.

I still haven’t arrived at an explanation as to how both got the stuff in their hair.  Actually, I don’t think I want to go there.

WP_20160618_20_13_38_Pro

Here is the courtyard in the condition in which it was when our guests arrived for the evening braai (barbecue).  I wish I had taken a picture of the wall-to wall rubble in evidence there earlier this week.

© June 2016 Colonialist (WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Africa, Gardens, Grandchildren, Personal Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to By Gum, Stuck for a Solution to a Hairy Problem …

  1. Joss says:

    chewing gum is one of the most annoying things on this planet – says the woman who loves to chew gum.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      It is annoying when stuck to things, it is annoying when found in places it doesn’t belong, it is annoying when another person is incessantly chewing it, and it is exceptionally annoying when one likes chewing it but false teeth don’t.

      Like

  2. Gobetween says:

    The braai area looks very inviting. I like slasto very durable.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Julle binnehof lyk na ‘n heerlike kuierplek, gesellig en vriendelik.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations on the courtyard transformation. Please, what is slasto?

    I never had a hair/chewing gum problem. But the usual answer to removing the stuff from clothes or shoes used to be to put the offending afticle in the freezer. I don’t think that would work with children!

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      Slasto is a kind of slate used primarily for crazy paving of the kind visible under the chairs. I am planning on extending it across the whole courtyard.
      The freezer idea has its attractions – keep them quiet for a while!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. beeblu says:

    You’re working hard, Col, and things are slowly coming together (albeit, that some things shouldn’t, such as gum-stuck hair).

    I had the gum-hair thing with a schoolfriend when I was a kid. She was strictly forbidden to eat anything other than the weird stuff the family was fed by her mother (rhubarb pie, goats milk, etc), but we had been to the local shop (near Durban university) and purchased Chappies with my pocket money. Her parents were real disciplinarians and thought all her non-German friends were complete reprobates, so I was the one who got into trouble. No Google to help us out in those days.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      There is so much still to come together I feel constantly daunted ….
      Yes, that was one coming-together I could definitely have done without.
      So chewing gum put you on the verboten list? Ag, shame! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

