Things are all Sweetness and Flight


Following up on my guavadilla post, here is how to set about exploiting the fruit. A pointy teaspoon is ideal for scooping away from the sides to extract pulp and pips without disturbing the spiky pith (which is still OK to eat, but I prefer not to include it).  Then all one has to do is mix in the condensed milk to one’s taste, and you have as delicious a dish as you could wish.

It has also worked well with heating a cup of it mixed with a cup of sugar, and straining off. This gives a syrup which, with water added, gives a surprising number of glasses of a delightfully refreshing drink.

We have, perhaps, some further competition for the fruit apart from the monkeys, who have had some good feeds.  I discovered this specimen of a Dot-underwing or Fruit-piercing moth (Eudocima materna) near the vine, and it is possible that guavadillas have become some of the fruit they are dotting underwing and piercing. Wiki shows these moths pictured on marula fruit, so it is entirely likely.

(I stopped this to add one of my photos to the Wiki article, to reflect the presence of the Dot-underwing moth in this part of the world.  I also had to amplify the preamble, which made no mention of Africa.)

© March 2017 Colonialist
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Africa, Flora, Nature, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Things are all Sweetness and Flight

  1. toutparmoi says:

    I was sitting here thinking, ‘That looks like passion fruit pulp,’ and sure enough, now I see they’re related. We’re only allowed the purple ones here. There used to be a yellow tear-drop shaped variety that we called banana passion fruit, but it’s now regarded as a noxious weed. I had a vine growing in my garden and was told to get rid of it by the Regional Council! Sad. I like the pulp mixed with cream and a little sugar – it makes a nice sauce for fruit salads.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      It can’t be regarded as a noxious weed, because it isn’t at all noxious. Birds and animals love the fruit; humans like that and the flowers as well. Invasive, they mean? I’m all in favour of invaders that feed me with great generosity.

      Liked by 1 person

      • toutparmoi says:

        Yes, I enjoyed the fruit while I had the vine. They do mean invasive – apparently the vines can spread into native bush and choke it. But I wish the Regional Council were half as good at looking after their own tract of land near me as they are at snooping in my garden.

        Like

  2. Arkenaten says:

    Never seen this moth. I shall be on the lookout and if it turns up here I shall let you know.
    Well done for the capture, Mister N.

    Like

  3. Stephanie Haahjem says:

    Could not survive without condensed milk LordBeariOfBow-presently have some fudge left (surprisingly) made with condensed milk, white chocolate and lemon juice-luscious! Also regularly make biscuits, ice-cream and of course “Railway Coffee” (which uses condensed milk instead of milk and sugar)
    Back to “guavadillas”-have never seen them Les, They sound wonderful!

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      My father’s classic fudge recipe featured condensed milk, butter and cream. Oh, wow! If you can get hold of a guavadilla plant or slip, grab! They grow remarkably easily, and start yeilding very soon.

      Like

  4. People still using condensed milk?
    How strange; I wonder why?

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

