Merited Reproofs


In this case, my title doesn’t mean deserved rebukes, but proofs for the re-issue of Tabika and Tabika Book Two which have merit!
These have just come from the printers. I am pleased with my new cover designs:

I am looking forward to having my first two books back in print. They, and their cat theme, have always had a special place in my heart. In these new editions, I have managed to repeat some illustrations a few times to add interest as characters return to the story, and to introduce a few new ones from my files. Samples appear on the back covers:

The only thing I have misgivings about is whether, during the decades since the books were first written, child literacy has been ‘dumbed down’ to an extent which will frighten off a lot of the target readership. One of the intentions during the writing of the tale was deliberately to use language somewhat beyond the then-normal vocabulary of children around the six-to-ten-year age group, and let interest in the story create a familiarity with such words. It worked well for my own children. Can it continue to do so in this day and age? Or will these novels now have to be marketed as only suitable for adults?

© August 2017 Colonialist
About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Cats, Children's Fiction, Cover Design, Fantasy, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Merited Reproofs

  1. dunelight says:

    Best of luck! So many friends are being published now, it is in the ‘air’. 🙂

    Like

  2. You can’t blame the children, if they are ‘dumbed down’ ( what a horrible expression) it’s the fault of the parents and the educators, not the children. Children, by and large, are nosey inquisitive creatures all they need is encouragement and a free rein then watch them go!

    Like

  3. We had reading suggestion lists as well as free choice, my Mum was told I was choosing books to easy for my abilities but I just wanted to read for fun, however, I did enjoy Alice in Wonderland and I think the language in there was challenging as well as being wonderfully imaginative. Good luck with the relaunch

    Like

  4. Arkenaten says:

    Well done , Mister N.
    And I am inclined to agree with Ruth.
    Children often live up to and exceed expectations.
    Therefore, think how marvelous and word savvy they are and … they will be.

    Like

  5. RuthBH2Day says:

    Children often surprise us, I wouldn’t worry if I was you. As somebody else mentioned, a good story will find a home

    Liked by 1 person

  6. disperser says:

    I think kids today are often underestimated . . . but, unfortunately, I also think their interests and attention spans suffered in the last ten years or so (it certainly has for adults). One other thing that my limited experience tells me is that their sense of wonder now requires a much bigger trigger than it was.

    Yes, there are exceptions — always — and I don’t interact with kids so I could be way off base, but nonetheless, that’s my impression.

    Congratulations on the reprint and kudos on the updated covers.

    Like

  7. A good tale will find a home! At first they said Harry Potter was too long and to difficult, but the kids dug in ( showing they are capable if they want to be…schools should take note.)
    Love the cover images – that tiger/cat has the perfect expression to draw readers in.
    Congrats!

    Like

  8. Congratulations I hope the reissue of your books are successful. I think you’ll do fine with your target age group. In America children attend pre-kindergarten and learn to start reading in kindergarten. Young children 6-10 these days are pretty sharp, precocious, and love to read. I think when they hit their teens, they get social media access, and they lose their joy for reading.

    Liked by 1 person

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

