THE REAL UNREAL


            As another bash at the ‘Alternate Reality’ side view theme for the weekend, it would be downright unnatural if I didn’t use the opportunity to touch on my own fantasy writing.

       All my ‘Magic Circle’ lands fall into the category of alternate realities rather than alternative realities (see previous post) because they are entered from the ‘normal’ world. So far, of Warrior Circle, Sea Circle and Forest Circle the latter remains my favourite.

       This can be seen from the fact that my latest novel Forest Circle Quest – which should have seen the light of day mid-last year but will hopefully appear in February – was also set there. It is probably all to the good that it didn’t come out at the time when I wanted to try doing all the frilly bits on my own. Publishers certainly add far more professionalism to the final production. Take a look, for example, at what I was contemplating by way of a cover, compared with the actual one! You can tell, by looking on my badge, the value of their graphic artist!

      

Subsequent hitches have been highly irritating, but all for good reasons. With some things, the pace simply cannot be forced. Still, once one has the whole alternate reality ready for visitors, it is frustrating in the extreme if the entrance remains closed to the public!

       I suppose I returned to Forest Circle because there is a comfort zone in using familiar characters and scenes. Also, they had become so real to me that it was simply a matter of sitting back with a cup of tea or something stronger and letting the story get on with telling itself.

       However, I do feel there is a danger of ‘staleness’ creeping in if one doesn’t re-invent one’s novel reality from time to time. Admittedly, Discworld seems to have retained its freshness throughout all the long series, and in fact it seems to increase in appeal with each new one. My Circles perhaps don’t quite have the sort of depth, though, to ring true so many times around (heehee).

 © Colonialist Jan 2012 (Letterdash/WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies. Recently Indie Publishing has been added to this list.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE REAL UNREAL

  1. colonialist says:

    Hi! The sidebar one (in professional detail) is the proper cover, and looks really impressive, even to some clever shading on the spine giving the impression of a hardcover. I whipped up the one above, but nowhere near professionally enough.
    I am looking forward to more of your poems, and I have been extracting a stack more of mine. I think there is going to be a lot of material to choose from!

    Like

  2. Hi Col! How’s your computer-life going? have your lap-top back? BTW, I tried to view the actual cover of your new book, but it is far too small and i can’t enlarge it without blurring it out completely! Is the cover that appears in this post the final, or is the one in the sidebar the final?

    I am going to have to lay my hands on your books and give them all my attention – thereby giving myself the opportunity to enter into your alternate realities. An alternative to where I am at times would be a welcome respite! Take for instance, editing my own poetry. . .not to say some of yours! Although going over yours is considerably easier than going over mine! 😆

    Ready for the next set? Right now I am busy on the NEXT set after that – the side-by-side limericks. Having a ball!

    This was a really unreal real post.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!