Targeted by a mischievous demon.


Last week's completed project - tiled kitchen.  Carpeting to follow.

Last week’s completed project – tiled kitchen. Carpeting to follow.

Much time has been spent on home-to-be this week.  Above is one result.

A weekend high(low)light:
I want access through some private land and applied by email for a key, as invited on a notice at the (Fort Knox-type) entrance.  Yesterday a reply came with a set of agreements and indemnities requiring that these, plus ID docs, be delivered to 49 Gloople street between the hours of 08h00 and 15h00 hours over weekends. 

I do a double-take at that.  Yip, that is definitely what it says. 

Oh, dear. 

My printer won’t print, because it is demanding a cartridge.  So I shoot off to my pet printer shop to get one of the ones they keep in stock for me to fire my Canon.  Oops – it is the only one missing from their supply. 

‘No panic – email the attachments you received to us, and we’ll print them for you tomorrow.’ 

Duly done, and I collect the various copies this morning.  Now, I need to save them to file.  Scanner refuses, with cartridge as an excuse.  ‘But I don’t WANT to print; only scan!’ I wail.  Printer switches itself off in response. 

Never mind, I’ll just deliver the documents, I resolve.  I sign my life away on the documents now printed (doing a bit of editing on them, where there are errors in grammar, legality, and sense), and go there.  Gloople Street has a 51 and a 47.  No 49.   There is, however, a house beyond with no number.  It has locked gates and no signs of life.  Finally, after I make many noises, life appears.  I explain my errand.  ‘Next door!’ the occupant snaps, and vanishes. 

I go back to 47 and seek any means of entry.  None exist.  I activate their dogs.  That works, and a nice lady eventually appears.  She explains that the upstairs part of 47 is actually 49.  However, the occupant is wandering gaily overseas, as is her wont, and the person who attends to business like mine appears during the appointed hours – over weekDAYS!   Sympathetic noises are made when I explain the effort I have gone to in order to deliver over the weekend.  ‘She does tend to get a bit confused,’ I am told. 

I don’t blame the globetrotting lady.  I blame this blithering little rascal of a demon who is having fun messing with my mentality, such as it may be. 

Anyway, I did some energetic exercise with my self-serviced chainsaw, and had the pleasure of discovering that the sea glimpses from our new property will actually be more than glimpses by the time I finish. 

© Colonialist August 2014 (WordPress)

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies. Recently Indie Publishing has been added to this list.
This entry was posted in Humour, Ocean, Personal Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Targeted by a mischievous demon.

  1. Looks like you will be kept very busy for the foreseeable future, Col. Chain saws give me the heebies. Son told me yesterday, that he had also hired one for the weekend. 😦

    Like

  2. MoreThanACat says:

    there are times i think printers rule the universe

    Like

  3. It looks bright and light, just right. 🙂

    Like

  4. Happy to learn that lady at no 49 was missing particularly as you were in procession of a chainsaw.
    I look forward to seeing some photographs of your newly discovered views

    Like

  5. gipsika says:

    🙂 Stunning, so you’ll have a sea view again? Yay!! (That chainsaw is a handy tool!)

    Well done on the tile job, looking great! I’m sure the place will be cozy once you’re done with it.

    Like

  6. Nice bright kitchen – a bit wee, though: will you all fit in? I’m glad the sea will still be part of your daily life. The phantom address/recalcitrant printer episode must have been a living nightmare.

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      That is the kitchen in the second of our ‘buy one, get one free’ house deals. The other will be a lot more substantial when we have finished with it.
      A fit and frisky sense of humour did help on that address etc affair!

      Like

  7. Ruth2Day says:

    I think I’ve missed something, why are you moving?

    Like

  8. oh dear – that is the way of it! Printers have a way of giving out just when you need one urgently – happened to me just this week when I needed some documents copied for a jp to sign #eek

    Like

  9. Colline says:

    At least you will not be too far from the sea. And your kitchen looks lovely.

    Like

  10. melouisef says:

    I hope you will be very happy in your new place of abode and that your printer will adjust to its new surroundings. he probably tried a Murphy on you
    🙂

    Like

  11. bluebee says:

    Pruning is such good therapy for slaying the demons.

    Like

  12. calmgrove says:

    Ah, the famous chainsaw… Have fun!

    Like

  13. misswhiplash says:

    You just mind what you are doing with that chain saw…so new house is not far from sea…kitchen looks good, did you do that all by yourself.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!