A howling success of a performance


 

(See sidebar for Translator, Music, Novels, Awards etc.)

Six-word story challenge: pets.

Terry 

Unwanted runt.  Love.  Magnificent boyhood companion.

 The picture is of Frederick of Dunster, known as Terry.  I loved the ridiculous ball of fluff the minute I saw him, and he darted at me with tail wagging.  Attempts to persuade me to take one of his beautiful and sturdy brothers were in vain. 

 Of course, he then grew to become more of a ‘show’ dog than any of his siblings – but the main thing was his wonderful intelligence.  This old (undated) newspaper cutting from a book kept by my mother shows him doing his solo act playing the piano and singing, which was one of his things for the Variety Show performances we did together.

 Advocate

 The above picture shows how his human friend looked at the time.  This is another newspaper cutting attached to the same page, from when I was entered in a Fancy Dress Competition as the local Newspaper – the Advocate.  Cunning of my mother.  She knew I would win for sure – and get press coverage! 

A quick report on Current Affairs – there wasn’t any, for most of yesterday.  Cable repairs, or something.  I am still trying to catch up. 

© Colonialist May 2013 (WordPress)

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Dogs, Personal Journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A howling success of a performance

  1. Marco says:

    I was waiting for Pooch’s pic to download (crappy connection today) and I thought Terry was something out of star wars but then it hit me and instantly I felt stupid. Anyway

    Like

  2. I have a little issue with you, Col. You are so clever and have such a keen wit that at times I have to be sure I didn’t fall for a prank. I had to read the other comments to be sure that you weren’t putting captions to a variety of photos that were attributable to someone else. You do make me laugh–whether that’s you in the wig or not. You can’t blame me…who, but you, would have a performing dog. I’m so amused!!

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      So clever I regularly outsmart myself! 🙂
      I generally try to quote sources for photos not mine. That dog was my ‘wonder dog’ as I called him in a series of posts, and the wigged kid is definitely a young me.
      Terry would pick up commands – sorry, requests – in a sentence. I would say, ‘Terry would you please shut the door,’ and he would do so. Or, ‘Terry, would you please go and shut the front door,’ and he would ignore mine and wander out of the room. Shortly afterwards would come, ‘Slam!’ from the front of the house.

      Like

  3. adinparadise says:

    What fun, Col. You look so cute in the wig. Mothers do have some funny ideas, don’t they. Mine once dressed me up as a washerwoman, complete with a bag full of pegs. 🙂 I would have loved to have seen and heard Terry doing his Variety Show act. What fun. 😀

    Like

    • colonialist says:

      I bet being one of those was NOT one of your main ambitions in life!
      The piano and singing part was extra impressive because I would be telling him what to do out of sight in the wings. So the dog would come on stage, jump onto the piano stool, sing and play, take a bow, and then leave – as if all on his own.

      Like

  4. Sonel says:

    Awwwwww..how adorable Terry and you were Col! And you still are, don’t worry. 😀
    Lovely post as usual my friend and thanks for sharing. 🙂 *big hugs*

    Like

  5. Dogs have it over people every time for me !!! I’ve had seventeen of them in the last forty years – three at a time – all rescued…I still dream about them !!!.

    Like

  6. nrhatch says:

    Oh, what a FUN post. Thanks, Col.

    Like

  7. 68ghia says:

    Col & Terry – a winning combination 😉

    Like

  8. Pingback: Six Word Story Challenge: Pets | Figments of a DuTchess

  9. SuziCate says:

    What a talented and ever so cute duo! I love that your mother saved those clippings!

    Like

  10. viv blake says:

    Cute, the both of you!

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

