Really Awful Chicken and Egg Sample Egg Splained


EGGCENTRIC CHICKEN

A hen met with an egg one day
And they began a burst
Of argument; each tried to say
That it had been there first,

‘Without me,’ said the chicken, ‘You
Could not even be laid.’
‘And where,’ the egg said, ‘pray tell, do,
Was cock that laid you made?

‘Inside of me, that’s where it stayed,
And you came from me too!’
The chicken, though was undismayed,
Responding, ‘So sez you!

‘But you were first inside of me,
You simply can’t deny;
Without me there can no egg be;
Yours not to reason why!’

This argument for ages went
While each pursued its boast –
Till egg was to an omelette sent
And chicken was a roast.

But seeing hens by cocks were laid,
And hens then laid the eggs
From which more hens and cocks were made –
Cocks first, the question begs?

We are going to a remote area of internetlessness for the weekend.   Hopefully pictures galore on return – weather permitting!Colonialist sig.

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies. Recently Indie Publishing has been added to this list.
This entry was posted in Humour, Personal Journal, Really Awful Rhyme and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Really Awful Chicken and Egg Sample Egg Splained

  1. bluebee says:

    I knew I shouldn’t visit here just before sleep time – it sends the brain into overdrive!

    Like

  2. aqgreenfairy says:

    ^_^ A different take!

    Like

  3. The Asian says:

    Very entertaining Col 🙂
    Hope you had fun wherever you disappeared to!

    Like

  4. adeeyoyo says:

    What a lot of cock and bull! 😀

    Like

  5. adinparadise says:

    A very entertaining argument, Col. I’ll be quite content just to eat the omelette. 🙂

    Like

  6. 68ghia says:

    I’ve often pondered this question. And I would have to say the chicken was there first – otherwise, how could the egg have been hatched if not under the warm feathers of the hen? as for the cock – yes well. They’re ever ready 😉

    Like

  7. Now there’s a puzzler, Col!

    Like

  8. Doom says:

    Entertaining indeed. Do it again, daddy! :p

    Hmm, now I’m hungry though.

    Like

  9. Now that’s my favourite kind of logic! Have a good weekend. Have you scheduled your 6 word Saturday?

    Like

  10. Harmony says:

    Oh my my – such a naughty poem Col! I’d really like to crack a yoke at your expense, but my brain is fried and I’m rather egghausted 😉

    Like

  11. What a great Friday poem….you made me smile before heading out the door 🙂 enjoy your weekend in nature.

    Like

  12. Yeah, but why cross a road?

    Like

  13. Kathleen says:

    Well that should clarify that question 😉 Enjoy the weekend.

    Like

  14. melouisef says:

    Remote areas are good for the soul
    🙂

    Like

  15. Pussycat44 says:

    Don’t forget to pack pen and paper for the weekend!
    Have an enjoyable time, wherever you may be going.

    Like

  16. disperser says:

    . . . I liked it before I liked it, but unliked it after I liked it.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!