Really Awful Gasconade


 

Inflated
GASCONADE

I am so very clever,
And I am so very wise
That I resolved, whatever,
That I would reach the skies, 

I got a lot of soda pop,
And shook all bottles till
The bubbles tried to blow each top –
And swigged them with a will. 

Inflation set in badly,
I swelled like a balloon,
And thus was rising madly
Above cloud-level, soon! 

Next, lemonade some difference made;
The fizz came in a jet;
And with this help from gas-con*-ade,
I got to higher yet. 

My brilliance is outstanding,
And genius so high
No wonder I am landing
So far up in the sky! 

It, too, becomes my duty
On record now to go
That I am filled with beauty –
Just so that you all know. 

Alas, I’m also hosting
A modesty extreme;
Of doing any boasting
I’d never, ever, dream! 

*An’ I count this as I-tally-Anne for ‘with’, even if it is a bit of a con.  At least it isn’t with prose! 

© Colonialist July 2013 (WordPress)

 

About colonialist

Active septic geranium who plays with words writing fantasy novels and professionally editing, with notes writing classical music, and with riding a mountain bike, horses and dinghies.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Flying, Humour, Language, Nonsense verse, Poems, Really Awful Rhyme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Really Awful Gasconade

  1. Pingback: In praise of the BLOG | elspethc

  2. elspethc says:

    Definitely the height of something or other – refreshing maybe

    Like

  3. Lucky you didn’t explode! 🙂

    Like

  4. SidevieW says:

    I am not sure what it is,

    definitely not prose this airy piece

    Like

  5. Sonel says:

    Absolutely genius-ly written Col! Love it! 😀 *hugs*

    Like

  6. bluebee says:

    The drink of choice in boardrooms the world over.
    Awfully clever, Col. Or should that be ‘awfully clever Col’?

    Like

  7. The Asian says:

    This is why I chose you to write my biography 😉

    Like

  8. adinparadise says:

    A most brilliant piece of rhapsodic bluster, Col. 🙂

    Like

  9. hahaha Its exactly how one feels after too much fizz

    Like

  10. MoreThanACat says:

    Fab. And the picture. It reminds me of a RV Rieu poem… Mr Blob.
    Ok, Now to really put my thinking cap on for this challenge 🙂

    Like

  11. nrhatch says:

    No one would ever accuse you of being full of Hot Air. :mrgreen:

    Like

  12. Reblogged this on d|gI+Al hEGeM0n …..d|g|Z|nE and commented:
    We should all reach this high.

    Like

You have the right to remain silent - but please don't!

